Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Very easy and tasty recipe. I also used 1/4 cup of flour instead of what the recipe calls for though to make them a little less eggy and a little thicker. I coupled the pancakes with some jam and my toddler gobbled them up for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
A little too sweet so I would suggest less sugar. But otherwise they are just like my German mom used to make! Wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Followed the recipe, but added a tsp of vanilla. Brought me back to my childhood when my grandmother used to make them for me! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These are what I was taught in Home ec, to make. They became our week-end breakfast. I LOVE them with cottage cheese in the middle, strawberries & strawberry syrup over the top and a dash of sour cream. Like Blintz's. I'm not German, but boy do I LOVE German food. Thank you for giving back to me the recipe, I thought I had lost forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Norman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Would be 5 stars except for the practice needed to make these work. The taste is great. I used heaping TBSPs of flour and added a dash of salt. After messing up a couple, I finally "got it". What worked for me was using a small nonstick skillet and wiping it with vegetable oil on a paper towel between uses. The toothpick trick also helped a lot. There is a point at which the broad tip of the toothpick will loosen the edge w/o tearing the pancake, then just go around the edge enough to be able to put a thin spatula under for flipping. If the whole edge is not firmed up, it will tear. I used low/medium heat, because the first one was 'way too brown. Also, I did not fill these, but rather sprinkled them with fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar. Without filling, this recipe makes two servings at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and was disappointed. The pancakes were extremely eggy and hard to flip as there wasn't quite as much flour in them as I felt there should be to really hold their shape. My grandmother made German pancakes throughout my childhood and hers were more crepe-like and not nearly so sweet. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
While the flavor was nice, they were just too difficult to work with. It seems all those with a German background had more success....what is the trick? I let them cook until dry, as one reviewer suggested, but the problem is with flipping them. Where they didn't tear, they instead bunched up which led to them being underdone in those spots. I used a non-stick pan with a little butter but they just flat out refused to flip nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made exactly as written. My husband liked them better than I did and my son really didn't like them...so that is why I gave this recipe 3 stars. Could only make one at a time which was a little time consuming...probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
As a Mennonite German we made these large flat pancakes, we call them flinsin. We roll them up with butter and homemade syrup, the best treat. It's my daughter's favorite meal served with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have to agree with a few other reviewers that these were difficult to make. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States