Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very simple to make and tasty. I realize these aren't meant to be crepes, however, they are pretty similar and if I have to choose between crepes and these, I'd definitely go for the crepes. The batter was really thin and a tad harder to flip than what I'm used to. My son enjoyed them and so did I. I might make them again but again, I prefer crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are so simple to make. Good for a quick breakfast. They are more like crepes. For those who had trouble flipping them - Make sure pan is hot and spray with a cooking spray and also use a good dollop of butter, put the lid on until pancake is pretty much cooked and then flip. You should have no trouble flipping them using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I've had these since I was a child. We just call them roll up pancakes, and sprinkle sugar or spread jam in them before rolling them up. YUMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
easy delicious recipe for crepes. I could not shape them at all though because the batter was so runny, they came out all kinds of crazy shapes, lol. Used cooking spray to make them easy to flip. Once done, I put a little butter & Squeezed a lil lemon on them and they taste like german crepes from Ihop. You could add all kinds of fruits and flavors to this. next time i'll try with vanilla extract and a lil more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good, I did add a touch of vanilla to the batter, Very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Fabulous recipe. My son said that they were better tasting than our regular Sunday pancakes. These will be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great recipe!! This is just like my Mom's recipe. Both my parents came from Poland after the war so we've always called this recipe "Polish pancakes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Been making these ever since I tried one @ the old Farmers Market in Kitchener which is a huge German community in Ontario. My sons all request these when I ask them what they want for breakfast. We spread them with jam then roll them up :) LOVE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I've been looking for this recipe for years! My Grandma used to make these "Swedish Pancakes" for me as a child. Funny, all of Europe wants to claim their country's name on them! HA…my Grandma wasn't German or Swedish! These are so easy to prepare and so easy to make…but they are AMAZING! Thanks Deborah for sharing Barbarella's pancakes…my Grandma has passed and I didn't have the quantities of ingredients…tomorrow's breakfast for my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My mother who was German also made these. Wonderful treat for breakfast, she ALWAYS made a simple syrup (sugar and water), I never knew there was maple syrup until I was in my teens. Some of the German Heritage Groups have cookbooks, I have one from CO that is full of recipes I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States