Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
These are really lovely, & cut carbs but are rich. Much easier than crepes. Skipped the blender, whisked only, still tender. I made two batches: one as is, and one with whole wheat flour & raw sugar. We actually preferred the whole wheat/raw sugar version in a side-by-side comparison! The texture was the same, and the raw sugar did not overpower the flavor at all, just made the cake a touch richer. We followed the suggestion of using heaping tablespoons of flour, added a tiny bit of salt, used a pre-heated cast iron skillet, sprayed it on rare occasion with cooking spray, and the only pancake that I needed to throw out for the dog was cooked on a cooler pan half-way through the cooking process when I was both playing with the temp *&* trying to fit two smaller cakes onto my skillet......., so IMHO, trying to cook on a non-pre-heated pan is probably the cause of having to 'throw out the first pancake'? ....... but it took time for me to know that we want to use the heat setting just above the third notch on our burner's dial........ Yes, these are somewhat crepe like, but are more dense........., leave it to Germans to have a heavier more solid 'crepe'. I personally liked the butter-cinnamon-sugar combo more than any other we tried (the lemon/powdered sugar was nice, but not my fav...), pancake syrup was okay too....... depends on what you have with these perhaps...... Want to try a savory version in soup next, and to make these ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
**AMAZING** ... did I mention that these are amazing!!! The only thing I did different was I used 1 tsp of vanilla and 3 "heaping" tablespoons of flour, the rest I followed to a tee! I put a good amount of melted butter in my pan and had the heat on 5 (medium), made sure it was nice and hot and then put the mix in. They were a bit tricky to flip but not difficult, just be gentle and patient and it will work like a dream. I got it on the first try! I added raspberries, bananas, sausage pieces, maple syrup and Oikos vanilla greek yogurt and rolled them up and ate them. So amazing. Thank you so much for the recipe, one of the best on All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Fast and simple to make. Be sure your oil or butter is hot enough before you pour your batter into the pan or on the griddle. I make homemade butter pecan ice cream and save the pecan flavored butter to use in making these pancakes. The result is delicious! Be brave when turning them, I use a rubber spatula. If the underside is nicely browned and you've got enough oil/butter in the pan, the pancake will slide around without any problems. Simply use the spatula to slide under the pancake ~ it will bunch up on the spatula, but when you flip it over, it will straighten out when you slide/push the skillet around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very simple to make and tasty. I realize these aren't meant to be crepes, however, they are pretty similar and if I have to choose between crepes and these, I'd definitely go for the crepes. The batter was really thin and a tad harder to flip than what I'm used to. My son enjoyed them and so did I. I might make them again but again, I prefer crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are so simple to make. Good for a quick breakfast. They are more like crepes. For those who had trouble flipping them - Make sure pan is hot and spray with a cooking spray and also use a good dollop of butter, put the lid on until pancake is pretty much cooked and then flip. You should have no trouble flipping them using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I've had these since I was a child. We just call them roll up pancakes, and sprinkle sugar or spread jam in them before rolling them up. YUMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
easy delicious recipe for crepes. I could not shape them at all though because the batter was so runny, they came out all kinds of crazy shapes, lol. Used cooking spray to make them easy to flip. Once done, I put a little butter & Squeezed a lil lemon on them and they taste like german crepes from Ihop. You could add all kinds of fruits and flavors to this. next time i'll try with vanilla extract and a lil more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good, I did add a touch of vanilla to the batter, Very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Fabulous recipe. My son said that they were better tasting than our regular Sunday pancakes. These will be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great recipe!! This is just like my Mom's recipe. Both my parents came from Poland after the war so we've always called this recipe "Polish pancakes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States