Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
delicious! I'm still quite a novice at cooking/food preparation of any kind, and found these to be easy and fun. The 'toothpick method' for flipping the thin 'cakes works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Fabulous! My tips are to add about a 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract, and you can cut out about 150 calories by using Splenda instead of sugar, you can't tell the difference! Also, I stuffed the inside with hot strawberries in a Butter Lite syrup. My favorite pancake recipe by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My mom tells the story of how when she and my dad were first married (she's German, he was an American GI stationed in Munich), he asked her to make him some pancakes. She knew only how to make German pancakes. When she put the plate in front of him, he looked at it, asked "What's this?" and ate them all. This is almost exactly the way my mom taught me to make German pancakes. When they are hot off the pan I sprinkle the inside w/cinnamon and sugar, roll them up and serve them with chilled canned peaches spooned over them. We eat these almost every Sunday as our evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS ALIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My mom makes these (she is German). So far this is the easiest recipe to remember and make. When I would ask my mom how to do it she would say, "eggs-flour-milk, it's easy." But she never used measurements! She just knew how to do it. So my attempts always came out like rubbery discs. One thing I would like to say about Barbarella's recipe is that those tablespoons of flour should be on the heaping side. I also added a few grinder spins of rose petal infused salt. The thing about these is you can make them as fancy or as plain as you like, use the leftovers sliced up in soup, make them savory or sweet...try filling them with leftover cranberry sauce! The trick to flipping these in the pan is to wait until the uncooked portion looks dry, loosen the sides all around the skillet, then with a wide spatula flip. A non-stick pan helps, but my mother made these things in a cast iron skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Suggestion: fill with dulce de leche, and these are TO DIE FOR. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
My husband wanted me to find a recipe like his mom's german pancakes and he loved these. I used a non-stick pan and I was liberal with the butter. I only had one tear a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Very tasty, but the execution is extremely delicate and difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These tasted great, but I also had trouble getting them to form into a round shape. I have a small frying pan that is great for making one pancake at a time, so I used it and found it was much easier to get that round shape. I also used 1/4 cup of flour instead of the amount suggested in the recipe to mellow out some of that eggy taste. After the alterations I believe that these are the best pancakes I have ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
These pancakes tasted fine but I found them very hard to create. They were extremely runny and hard to control in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is a delicious recipe. I remember having these as a little girl. Little hard to flip without tearing it up. I am sure it just takes a little practice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States