Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I don't have a picture to show as we ate them immediately. They were a bit tricky to get out of the pan for the first flip. By the time they came out(the last two)the batter was gone. Some were served with cinnamon sugar mixture and the favorite were with Nutella. By the way I used a non stick pan that I coated with oil and reapplied as I thought it needed. Cooking spray would be more convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Taste just like I Hop's. I added some lemon & butter, melted to pour over before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I didn't love them, my two year old did though! I might try this recipe again in the future to see if they turn out any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I love the simplicity. Easy to make (with some practice) and tasted like they should. I did take the advice of some of the other reviewers and used heaping table spoons of flour. Honestly, I'm not sure if that helped or not but it certainly didn't hurt. And the toothpick idea to help detach from the edges and to help flip worked very well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I have issues flipping pancakes and I found a flat grill n a dolleramma flipper with a wide flipper thing....make sure spatula is clean n smooth n lightly go around edges as cooking and slid n flip...if I can do this a 3 yr old couldcoom only little bit on second side...I added icing sugar n cinimon mix t matter as cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
These are very similar to the German pancakes my Mom used to make when I was a kid - she's full German, married an American GI in Berlin - only brought over 1 suitcase to America - and 1 cookbook was in it - I changed this recipe to resemble the thickness of my Mom's recipe - basically multiplied the ingredients by 4, added a pinch of salt, but removed some of the milk: 1 cup flour 2 cups milk pinch of salt 1/2 cup sugar 8 eggs mixed in the kitchenaid until mostly smooth cooked as described, on medium heat in a non-stick skillet delicious served with sugar and lemon (like in my childhood) or with syrup (for my kids) YUM! LECKER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Really easy. Fun to serve with a couple kinds of berries, some whipped cream, chopped pecans and maybe drizzling a little chocolate or good quality espresso balsamic across the top of the rolled pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
German pancakes are my favorite! I'm so glad I found this recipe I recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Taste so good sometimes I add a little bit more flour to make a thicker pancake. Love the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Exactly what my mom was craving. Now that she can't go to her favorite pancake house, she asked me to find a similar recipe and this was it!!! Melted butter, powdered sugar, and lemon juice make this a tastey breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States