Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My mom tells the story of how when she and my dad were first married (she's German, he was an American GI stationed in Munich), he asked her to make him some pancakes. She knew only how to make German pancakes. When she put the plate in front of him, he looked at it, asked "What's this?" and ate them all. This is almost exactly the way my mom taught me to make German pancakes. When they are hot off the pan I sprinkle the inside w/cinnamon and sugar, roll them up and serve them with chilled canned peaches spooned over them. We eat these almost every Sunday as our evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS ALIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
My Oma used to make this for me as a child, I misplaced her recipe and I tried this and it fit the bill perfectly! My german grandparents used to call this "polojinka" I make mine with Rosehip Jam in the center....if you are ever in a german store grab a jar of this jam you wont regret it. Thank you for replacing her recipe for me so I can enjoy it again with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Being a Catholic, we of course never ate meat on Friday's. This was a dish that my german mom made every few months on those evenings. My brother's and I loved it and certainly still do. Sometimes we used maple syrup and others we spread jam on the pancake, rolled it up and then sprinkled with powdered sugar. Always an occasional treat, whether it be a quickie dinner or a leisurely breakfast. My kids love it just as much as I did. Thanks for the memories, Deborah......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I love German pancakes and have looked for a recipe for them for ages. This is so easy that it is hard to believe how good they are. Remember though, the first pancake to be cooked has to be thrown away. (Really, it does!) When the pancake is cooked and put on the place, spread a little butter over it and then fold it over itself twice. Top with a little more butter, a squeeze of lemon juice, and a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
if you have trouble flipping the pancakes, try running a toothpick around the outside of the pancake and using it to grab the pancake. Then you can use your fingers to flip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
RReeeaaallllllyyy gggooooooddd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
yummy and easy! heavenly with strawberries and whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
My husband wanted me to find a recipe like his mom's german pancakes and he loved these. I used a non-stick pan and I was liberal with the butter. I only had one tear a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Suggestion: fill with dulce de leche, and these are TO DIE FOR. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States