Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My mom tells the story of how when she and my dad were first married (she's German, he was an American GI stationed in Munich), he asked her to make him some pancakes. She knew only how to make German pancakes. When she put the plate in front of him, he looked at it, asked "What's this?" and ate them all. This is almost exactly the way my mom taught me to make German pancakes. When they are hot off the pan I sprinkle the inside w/cinnamon and sugar, roll them up and serve them with chilled canned peaches spooned over them. We eat these almost every Sunday as our evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS ALIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
if you have trouble flipping the pancakes, try running a toothpick around the outside of the pancake and using it to grab the pancake. Then you can use your fingers to flip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I love German pancakes and have looked for a recipe for them for ages. This is so easy that it is hard to believe how good they are. Remember though, the first pancake to be cooked has to be thrown away. (Really, it does!) When the pancake is cooked and put on the place, spread a little butter over it and then fold it over itself twice. Top with a little more butter, a squeeze of lemon juice, and a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My mom makes these (she is German). So far this is the easiest recipe to remember and make. When I would ask my mom how to do it she would say, "eggs-flour-milk, it's easy." But she never used measurements! She just knew how to do it. So my attempts always came out like rubbery discs. One thing I would like to say about Barbarella's recipe is that those tablespoons of flour should be on the heaping side. I also added a few grinder spins of rose petal infused salt. The thing about these is you can make them as fancy or as plain as you like, use the leftovers sliced up in soup, make them savory or sweet...try filling them with leftover cranberry sauce! The trick to flipping these in the pan is to wait until the uncooked portion looks dry, loosen the sides all around the skillet, then with a wide spatula flip. A non-stick pan helps, but my mother made these things in a cast iron skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These tasted great, but I also had trouble getting them to form into a round shape. I have a small frying pan that is great for making one pancake at a time, so I used it and found it was much easier to get that round shape. I also used 1/4 cup of flour instead of the amount suggested in the recipe to mellow out some of that eggy taste. After the alterations I believe that these are the best pancakes I have ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
My Oma used to make this for me as a child, I misplaced her recipe and I tried this and it fit the bill perfectly! My german grandparents used to call this "polojinka" I make mine with Rosehip Jam in the center....if you are ever in a german store grab a jar of this jam you wont regret it. Thank you for replacing her recipe for me so I can enjoy it again with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
As a Mennonite German we made these large flat pancakes, we call them flinsin. We roll them up with butter and homemade syrup, the best treat. It's my daughter's favorite meal served with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Being a Catholic, we of course never ate meat on Friday's. This was a dish that my german mom made every few months on those evenings. My brother's and I loved it and certainly still do. Sometimes we used maple syrup and others we spread jam on the pancake, rolled it up and then sprinkled with powdered sugar. Always an occasional treat, whether it be a quickie dinner or a leisurely breakfast. My kids love it just as much as I did. Thanks for the memories, Deborah......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I really liked how this tasted and it was easy to make. However, I had a hard time flipping these! When I'd get it right, they turned out great. But when I couldn't flip them (they are very thin), they were a mess. I think I might need a wider spatula or something to make these work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
These pancakes tasted fine but I found them very hard to create. They were extremely runny and hard to control in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States