Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Now I've lived in Germany and they know the difference between a pancake and a crepe or blintz. Very nice crepes, but not like American pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaggyMoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
It needs a pinch of salt, to balance it. I love adding real vanilla bean extract. Fill it with creek yogurt and drizzle some maple syrup. Serve with fresh fruit... and the mornings will never be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvia D

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is the best German pancake recipe! It is easy and tastes great!!! I made just poured all of it in at once and made one large german pancake like you would get at a restaurant. Sprinkled with lemon and powdered sugar. My husband loved it better then they old one I used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
delicious! I'm still quite a novice at cooking/food preparation of any kind, and found these to be easy and fun. The 'toothpick method' for flipping the thin 'cakes works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Fabulous! My tips are to add about a 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract, and you can cut out about 150 calories by using Splenda instead of sugar, you can't tell the difference! Also, I stuffed the inside with hot strawberries in a Butter Lite syrup. My favorite pancake recipe by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My mom tells the story of how when she and my dad were first married (she's German, he was an American GI stationed in Munich), he asked her to make him some pancakes. She knew only how to make German pancakes. When she put the plate in front of him, he looked at it, asked "What's this?" and ate them all. This is almost exactly the way my mom taught me to make German pancakes. When they are hot off the pan I sprinkle the inside w/cinnamon and sugar, roll them up and serve them with chilled canned peaches spooned over them. We eat these almost every Sunday as our evening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS ALIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
My mom makes these (she is German). So far this is the easiest recipe to remember and make. When I would ask my mom how to do it she would say, "eggs-flour-milk, it's easy." But she never used measurements! She just knew how to do it. So my attempts always came out like rubbery discs. One thing I would like to say about Barbarella's recipe is that those tablespoons of flour should be on the heaping side. I also added a few grinder spins of rose petal infused salt. The thing about these is you can make them as fancy or as plain as you like, use the leftovers sliced up in soup, make them savory or sweet...try filling them with leftover cranberry sauce! The trick to flipping these in the pan is to wait until the uncooked portion looks dry, loosen the sides all around the skillet, then with a wide spatula flip. A non-stick pan helps, but my mother made these things in a cast iron skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Suggestion: fill with dulce de leche, and these are TO DIE FOR. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
My husband wanted me to find a recipe like his mom's german pancakes and he loved these. I used a non-stick pan and I was liberal with the butter. I only had one tear a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Very tasty, but the execution is extremely delicate and difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States