Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This recipe was very good but it was so much like a crepe. Same method of cooking. I followed it exactly. It's just a little bit thicker. I will stick to my crepes. But thank you for a good recipe. Was worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This recipe is made exactly how I was brought up to make german pancakes, we love to put jam on them (lightly) and roll em up... my son is a diabetic and this is a good easy diabetic friendly way to cure a sweet tooth. We just use sugar free jam and it's enough sweet to save the day! Thanks for posting this recipe! Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Oh so good..my daughters loved these. I sprinkled some with cinn and sugar and then the others i filled with homemade blackberry jam and sprinkled with powdered sugar...nummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Oh what memories that brought back.... My husband had the very same reaction to the "German Pancake" Well what other kind was there ???? Now 50 years later....my grand- and great- grand kids ask for Memas pannycakes lol...Oh how the time passes... but good eating does not.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Easy and delicious!! I did run a toothpick around the edges to loosen it before flipping (as suggested by another reviewer). I used a small skillet also and sprayed pam in it for just the first pancake. I topped mine with honey and powdered sugar! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
These pancakes were excellent! The taste was so much sweeter and lighter than normal pancakes. I added just a pinch of salt to the batter and the only issue I had was sticking when I tried to flip them, but by the last one I got the hang of it. I put a thin layer of grape jam in the middle and sprinkle of powdered sugar on top and my 3 year old ate them up - he is normally so picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
YUMMY! These are wonderful! The ONLY thing I did different was doubled the recipe and added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract. Made the whole house smell delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Yacobucci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
when you beat the eggwhites stiff and fold them into the rest of the batter, they will become very fluffy. also try to add some vanilla or rum. a pinch of salt. i am german and i grew up eating them with applesauce, jam, nutella or fresh fruits and cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
use hazelnut half and half ..... MMMMMM Better flavor than vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
my kids go through 3-4 batches of these and they are so fast and easy to make that it's never an issue! Such a great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States