Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very good. I thought they tasted a bit on the "eggy" side, but still found deliciouos. I think of these as crepes. They were great with a sprinkling of powdered sugar and jam, and would be equally good filled with some kind of creamy chicken dish for dinner. Also, I put some chocolate chips in the middle of one, rolled it up while still hot so the chocolate melted, and then sprinkled on some powdered sugar and served with raspberry jam. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Easy and delicious. Brushed the pan with butter before adding the batter and used the toothpick trick (ran it around the pancake before flipping). The last one I made turned out the best as I had gotten the hang of it. The only downside is that it does only make four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I used 1/4 c orange juice and 1/2 c french vanilla coffee creamer because I was out of milk. The flavor was great but they are difficult to cook without burning. I measured them out by 1/4 c and got 7 medium-sized pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These are just like the pancakes my liebe mother made for us when I was a kid! I used ricotta cheese mixed with vanilla and fresh fruit to fill the pancakes... they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The taste is great, but the creation of these things is too hard! I made 4 servings and it was too hard to flip them and this isn't my first time making them. It also wasn't enough to feed four, just my husband and 3 year old daughter. I had to make a new batch for myself, but I used another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was a great omelet! For nearly 45 years I enjoyed German pancakes that seemed to have more something in them then these eggy culprits. These pancakes were tasty but not what I remember. I never got the recipe before my mother passed away, so I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This recipe was very good but it was so much like a crepe. Same method of cooking. I followed it exactly. It's just a little bit thicker. I will stick to my crepes. But thank you for a good recipe. Was worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This recipe is made exactly how I was brought up to make german pancakes, we love to put jam on them (lightly) and roll em up... my son is a diabetic and this is a good easy diabetic friendly way to cure a sweet tooth. We just use sugar free jam and it's enough sweet to save the day! Thanks for posting this recipe! Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Oh so good..my daughters loved these. I sprinkled some with cinn and sugar and then the others i filled with homemade blackberry jam and sprinkled with powdered sugar...nummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Oh what memories that brought back.... My husband had the very same reaction to the "German Pancake" Well what other kind was there ???? Now 50 years later....my grand- and great- grand kids ask for Memas pannycakes lol...Oh how the time passes... but good eating does not.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States