Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I loved this German pancake and will be making this often. These can be a little tricky to flip so I used a small Teflon skillet and buttered the bottom before adding the egg mixture. Loosen the edges before you try to flip the pancake. It is a nice eggy pancake that is light and excellent served with fruit and a little powdered sugar. For us, it was a perfect breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Wonderful German pancakes! I also add a good dose of vanilla extract and a little almond extract. I serve it with pears (canned pears chilled overnight with a little honey and cinnamon) then top with a little bit of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacona, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These are the best thing in the world. They are hard to flip, the temp. has to be just right, once your figure it out its easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Very easy and tasty recipe. I also used 1/4 cup of flour instead of what the recipe calls for though to make them a little less eggy and a little thicker. I coupled the pancakes with some jam and my toddler gobbled them up for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
A little too sweet so I would suggest less sugar. But otherwise they are just like my German mom used to make! Wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Followed the recipe, but added a tsp of vanilla. Brought me back to my childhood when my grandmother used to make them for me! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These are what I was taught in Home ec, to make. They became our week-end breakfast. I LOVE them with cottage cheese in the middle, strawberries & strawberry syrup over the top and a dash of sour cream. Like Blintz's. I'm not German, but boy do I LOVE German food. Thank you for giving back to me the recipe, I thought I had lost forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Would be 5 stars except for the practice needed to make these work. The taste is great. I used heaping TBSPs of flour and added a dash of salt. After messing up a couple, I finally "got it". What worked for me was using a small nonstick skillet and wiping it with vegetable oil on a paper towel between uses. The toothpick trick also helped a lot. There is a point at which the broad tip of the toothpick will loosen the edge w/o tearing the pancake, then just go around the edge enough to be able to put a thin spatula under for flipping. If the whole edge is not firmed up, it will tear. I used low/medium heat, because the first one was 'way too brown. Also, I did not fill these, but rather sprinkled them with fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar. Without filling, this recipe makes two servings at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and was disappointed. The pancakes were extremely eggy and hard to flip as there wasn't quite as much flour in them as I felt there should be to really hold their shape. My grandmother made German pancakes throughout my childhood and hers were more crepe-like and not nearly so sweet. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
While the flavor was nice, they were just too difficult to work with. It seems all those with a German background had more success....what is the trick? I let them cook until dry, as one reviewer suggested, but the problem is with flipping them. Where they didn't tear, they instead bunched up which led to them being underdone in those spots. I used a non-stick pan with a little butter but they just flat out refused to flip nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States