Barbadian Plain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This is an excellent recipe and I will make it again with one BIG CHANGE. The temperature of 400 degrees is way too hot. I bake at least one or two cakes a week and have a professional stove. It scorched the top after 45 minutes with that hot of an oven. I never made it far enough to lower the oven to bake it for another 15 like the directions state. Next time I'll bake it at 325-350 degrees for one hour and then adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CherrieT
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was awesome!!! I have been looking for this recipe for ages and am thankful that I finally found it The cake tasted exactly like it did when I grew up in the island of Barbados. Wow!! I have a picture of how it turned out too. I did not hand-mix, but used a KitchenAid mixture instead and I had to lower the temperature to 325 because 400 was definitely too high. However, the quantities were PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherrieT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
As a Bajan this is true 'bajan pudding' as we call it. The temp is high but the almond , mixed or vanilla essences does not matter as everyone has their favourite. The consistency, moisture and fluffy ness are perfect when the recipe is followed correctly. We even add cherries, raisins or mixed peel for difference flavours. Thanks, will definately make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oistins, Christ Church, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
WHOA!WHOA!WHOA! The almond extract KILLS this cake. The density of this cake is great as well as the moistness. BUT, the almond extract over powers the cake way to much. Cut the almond extract to 1 teaspoon. I am going to try making it with one tbs of vanilla extract and 1 tsp of lemon extract and hope for different results- Wish me luck. I baked this cake for one hour at 350 and it turned out nice too bad it tasted terrible!!!! UPDATE: Okay I made the cake with the 1 tsp of lemon extract and WOW what a difference! We could actually eat it this time! It did not have a heavy lemon taste so the lemon glaze/icing I drizzled on it was a perfect compliment. Good Cake - would give a 4 when using lemon extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This is SUCH a tasty cake. Out of all the cakes I've ever made, this is my favorite, and I keep coming back to the recipe. It just tastes and smells so good. I like to cook it in a 9" loaf pan (recipe makes two loaves) and use it for strawberry shortcake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Very, very good recipe. I rate this one a five, it truly was easy and tasty. I always purchased birthday cakes because they are so special, but I doubled the recipe, added chopped cherries and still got perfect results. Thank you Madam Bajan for sharing. Antiguan (lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
i tried the recipe and the cake mixture has too much fluid, loose consistency and when i put it in the bundt pan, the mixture dripped under the pan and i had burning scent in the kitchen. with 2 cups of butter, 2 cups of milk on a 3- cups of flour doesn't seem right with 4 eggs. I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Absolutely delicious, a perfect Barbadian Plain Cake! I followed the exact directions, and it turned out 100% perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This recipie was great. I'm a 15 year old starting to enter the world of cooking and let's just say I'm a little more than shaky. I took the cake out of the oven like 5-10 minutes early, so it fell in. :( But even still, the texture of th cake was so moist...almost like a custartd in a way but more solid. The outside of the cake was cripsy and it actually tasted quite great! My family went nuts over it and they usually consider things spawned from my hands toxic! If you have more than 2 months experience, I'd definitly try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
I am of Barbadian decent, and this is the closest to my grandmothers plain cake as I have found. It is best to use the pure essences though with this cake - often found at West Indian grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States