Barbadian Plain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
As a Bajan this is true 'bajan pudding' as we call it. The temp is high but the almond , mixed or vanilla essences does not matter as everyone has their favourite. The consistency, moisture and fluffy ness are perfect when the recipe is followed correctly. We even add cherries, raisins or mixed peel for difference flavours. Thanks, will definately make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oistins, Christ Church, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I added a tsp of mixed essence & left out the almond essence (as i find this can make cake a little hard)and I squeezed about half of a lime in the mix. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This cake was fantastic! I took it to a party and everyone loved it. This would also make a fantastic cake to use for a strawberry shortcake. This is a great recipe and I would make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Not so good, way too much milk! I used only one cup and instead of almond extract I used coconut. Don't think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CherrieT
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was awesome!!! I have been looking for this recipe for ages and am thankful that I finally found it The cake tasted exactly like it did when I grew up in the island of Barbados. Wow!! I have a picture of how it turned out too. I did not hand-mix, but used a KitchenAid mixture instead and I had to lower the temperature to 325 because 400 was definitely too high. However, the quantities were PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherrieT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This cake was great. I followed the recipe exactly hand mixing and all. The only thing i did different was baking at 300C for 1 hr. It was light and fluffy kinda like a light sponge cake. I also used coconut extract instead of almond for a true caribbean flava. I served it with a homemade caramel syrup recipe found on this site after all it is a plain cake. My mom added whip cream and strawberries which too tasted great. And being a young barbadian it was nice to find one of our traditional recipies on an international site. Allrecipes never ceases to amaze me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *malissa*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
i tried the recipe and the cake mixture has too much fluid, loose consistency and when i put it in the bundt pan, the mixture dripped under the pan and i had burning scent in the kitchen. with 2 cups of butter, 2 cups of milk on a 3- cups of flour doesn't seem right with 4 eggs. I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Absolutely delicious, a perfect Barbadian Plain Cake! I followed the exact directions, and it turned out 100% perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I agree - 400 is too high for this cake. It overcooks the cake and leaves it somewhat dry until you eat towards the bottom of the slice. Very simple to make and great results - my office friends LOVED IT! I put it in a 10-cup decorative bundt pan and it was a sheer hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
This recipie was great. I'm a 15 year old starting to enter the world of cooking and let's just say I'm a little more than shaky. I took the cake out of the oven like 5-10 minutes early, so it fell in. :( But even still, the texture of th cake was so moist...almost like a custartd in a way but more solid. The outside of the cake was cripsy and it actually tasted quite great! My family went nuts over it and they usually consider things spawned from my hands toxic! If you have more than 2 months experience, I'd definitly try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States