Barbadian Plain Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Wow, followed the recipe to a T, after reading the review I did what most asked and baked at 340, the cake was perfect and the whole family loved it, will be doing again soon......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caribgirl
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Being a Bajan, I have to say that this cake is right on! It is a true pound or "pudding" cake as it is very dense. Adjustments: 1. Baked at 400 degrees for the first 10 minutes and then at 325 degrees for an hour. 2. used 1 tablespoon of authentic Bajan essence and 2 teaspoon of almond extract. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caribgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Good. But I had to diddle, as usual. Replaced the milk with coconut milk and water; the "essences" (of which I think there is no true Barbados equivalent) coconut extract (made my own; look for Alton Brown's recipe on Food Network site; it's a little involved, but very worth it over store-purchased brands). This turned out so yummy. Cook it at a lower temp. Start at 400 for 10-12 minutes, then 350 the rest of the baking time. Everyone asked for the recipe and it was worth all the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I love this cake. I am not from Barbados but I was just browsing for something to make and I came across this wonderfull cake. I followed the recipe exactly but I added a sprinkle of cinammon to give it an extra boost. This cake is very delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CiCi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by serena
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
thanks for the recipe. easy enough to make w/ children. tastes great! versitile cake, good plain or w/ fruits or frosting. i love it! i used 2 - 9 inch cake pans baked at 350 for 45 min. and inplace of almond i used lemon. turned out nice. my hubby is from B'dos. i hope he enjoys it as much as the kids and i are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Excellent recipe! I have made this cake a few times for home and my neighbours and have gotten great reviews. My husband likes chocolate chips so I made one for him with some chips on top, one for my mum with some walnuts, and my dad loved it plain. Great cake to have with your afternoon cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Really easy to make cake, well more pudding like in consistency but excellent none the less. I added a tea spoon of amaretto, some cimmamamon and nutmeg for flavor. I a also added some marachino cheries and currants that had been soaked in wine (for my Antiguan Black cake. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
fantastic taste! it was my first time baking it. and its so easy! except for the fact tt i was vigorously mixing the batter. made it as the base for my peach shortcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This cake recipe is very easy for the beginners, It was my first cake I baked!! :) and it came really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
As a Bajan this is true 'bajan pudding' as we call it. The temp is high but the almond , mixed or vanilla essences does not matter as everyone has their favourite. The consistency, moisture and fluffy ness are perfect when the recipe is followed correctly. We even add cherries, raisins or mixed peel for difference flavours. Thanks, will definately make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oistins, Christ Church, Barbados

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States