Barbacoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I have made this recipe a half dozen times and I love it more every time. This is my favorite food now! Thanks for this BA recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Bowen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My fiance is Mexican and he said it should be just a bit more spice..a bit more garlic and an extra guallijo chili. It turned out fine except for this. I actually used cow cheeks and there was alot of meat on it. Depending on your area you might have to order the cow cheeks ahead of time. I am going to try it again but upping the spices a bit. Overall it was pretty darn good..for your info too, barbacoa was actually made with lamb or goat meat in the past..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by GarbanzoBen
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Very good recipe. I used the crock pot after a quick sear on the beef instead. Flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was really good! Pleasantly surprised on how easy it was to make. this was my first time ever making barbacoa. My picky family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Tasted good with corn tortillas but by its self it was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Everything is ggreat except you use dry red ancho chiles, not powder....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is pretty good. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because the meat needs to be browned before roasting, and because the final product didn't have that spiciness I like barbacoa to have. Next time I'll add more chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Like the other person said, Barbacoa is beef cheek and is very good but has a very different flavor then a roast. Aside from that, this recipe looks really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Just wanted to let you know that barbacoa is not a chuck roast; it is beef cheek meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hays, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States