Bar Harbor Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
A major hit on thanksgiving, served with french vanilla ice cream. emmmmm goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent and as easy as it gets eapecially if you prefer a tart pie. We had it with vanillia yogurt ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Really yummy, especially still warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! The pie did bubble over just a tad so you may want to put a cookie sheet on rack below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made 2 of these pies to take to our family Thanksgiving dinner. I could not believe how fantastic they were. I was a little concerned by the amount of sugar in the recipe, but I didn't feel the end result was too sweet. In fact, the tartness of the cranberries was the perfect finishing touch to our traditional turkey dinner. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I love this recipe. It is so easy and quick to make. I did not have pecans so I used chopped almonds and I forgot to add vanilla as other reviewers suggested and it was still excellent. I ate 3 peices in a row while it was still warm. I absolutely love the crust and the cranberries were not too sweet or tart. I will make this one of my regular recipes as long as cranberries are at the supermarket or in my freezer. Thank you for such a wonderfull recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
What a fantastic pie! I made a New England Feast for the Superbowl - my husband is a diehard Pats fan and was devistated to watch the Colts this year. He is a Boston-native and loves cranberries. This was the perfect combo of sweet and tart. The only reason why I would give this recipe less than 5 stars is because the pie is hard to invert out of the pan after it is done. Granted, I did not fully seperate the pie from the sides before trying to flip. Next time I will grease the sides thoroughly, and this should do the trick. I am giving five stars because no other reviewers had a hard time - must be the learning curve! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I tweeked this recipe by adding 1 tsp. orange zest, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, and substituting giant blueberries for half of the cranberries . . and WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lfields19
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I got fresh cranberries in my farmers market basket last week and didn't know what to do with them. I found this recipe and decided to try it. I completely forgot about the pecans, and it was still delicious. It's sweet and tart and super-easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My grandma gave me this recipe almost 40 years ago, and I had misplaced it. I am so thankful for finding it!! A little bit sweet, a little bit tart, but so delicious!! We always have ours with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Her recipe called for walnuts, and more cranberries I believe. I'll buy extra to put in the freezer now so we can have this again at Christmas! Thank you for sharing Amy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family loved it! It is hard to make something that impresses my people because there are a couple of great cooks already. But my dad went on and on about how great this pie was and how it reminded him of his favorite cranberry muffins. I will definitely make this again and again! So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Pie Pro

These tips and tricks will make you a pie pro, the envy of family and friends!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States