Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I love this recipe. I made it for the first time with lemon cake mix, didn't use any mix ins, and it was great. It was fine as is, but I could see how adding 1 more TBS of water might be good. So quick & easy, yet moist & rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I misread the recipe and it still came out great. I added 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup and the batter was very stiff, but it was very good. I will make this recipe again, this time won't have "3/4" in my head. For the chips, I used one cup white chocolate chips and 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks and did use chopped walnuts. I like the versatility of the recipe, you can add what you have on hand or like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome! I've never used cake mix to make anything but a cake. I changed the recipe as others suggested and they where perfect! Might be better than my step-mother's from scratch choco chip cookie version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
What a lifesaver! Needed something to bring the next day at school, was able to take what I had on hand and throw together quickly and it was great! Did use the extra water, semi-sweet chips, peanuts and white cake mix. Can't wait to try other combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Simple, easy & delicious all rolled into 1 recipe! Very yummy!! I did need to add 1/3 cup of water as others mentioned. Thanks so much for sharing ;)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Always a hit whenever I make it. I add the 1/3 cup water as others mentioned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Since many said these bar cookies were too sweet, I opted to not add the brown sugar. Why does this recipe need added sugar anyway? There is already sugar in the cake mix. I also added 1/3 cup water and baked it for 22 minutes as suggested by other reviewers. Very good, fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Very easy and tasty. I used chocolate chips and butterscotch chips. I regret using so much butterscotch because it was too sweet for my taste. Otherwise, these are nice for a quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
YUMMY!! Thank you so much. I had extra chips and this was perfect. Kids loved making them and everyone loved eating them. I actually had complaints that I didn't make enough. I did add the 1/3 cup of water and crushed walnuts. I also cooked for 30 minutes, they looked under cooked, but after they cooled they were perfect. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These looked so good that I decided to make them. Right away I realized that they would not be "chocolate" unless I used chocolate cake mix. So I substituted (can anyone say otherwise?). I went on following the instructions The ratio of dry and wet ingredients left it unmixable (too dry). So I read other reviews and decided to add another egg and more water. When I got it to a typical brownie consistancy, I spread it in a pan. My pan may have been slighly larger than what is in the recipe, but there was barely enough batter to cover it. I would suggest a 10 x 10 pan. Anyway, the brownies are good, but too many changes are needed to make the recipe work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States