Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Very easy and tasty. I used chocolate chips and butterscotch chips. I regret using so much butterscotch because it was too sweet for my taste. Otherwise, these are nice for a quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
YUMMY!! Thank you so much. I had extra chips and this was perfect. Kids loved making them and everyone loved eating them. I actually had complaints that I didn't make enough. I did add the 1/3 cup of water and crushed walnuts. I also cooked for 30 minutes, they looked under cooked, but after they cooled they were perfect. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These looked so good that I decided to make them. Right away I realized that they would not be "chocolate" unless I used chocolate cake mix. So I substituted (can anyone say otherwise?). I went on following the instructions The ratio of dry and wet ingredients left it unmixable (too dry). So I read other reviews and decided to add another egg and more water. When I got it to a typical brownie consistancy, I spread it in a pan. My pan may have been slighly larger than what is in the recipe, but there was barely enough batter to cover it. I would suggest a 10 x 10 pan. Anyway, the brownies are good, but too many changes are needed to make the recipe work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Not bad. I used a white cake and I found the bars to be pretty sweet. Next time I will try a chocolate cake mix and possibly lower the sugar like some of the other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Made these for a few occasions...parties etc. and everyone loves them! Taste like they are made from scratch and texture is just right, chewy and dense, with just a bit of crumble. Used white cake mix and added butterscotch, semi sweet chocolate chips, and coconut to mix...baked in a dark pan. Yums and so easy for moms with kids and hubbys who love a nice sweet now and then...and very economical esp if you buy the cake mixes on sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wonderful recipe! These bars are absolutely fantastic! Easy to make, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I used 1/2c applesauce and 2 T. plain yogurt instead of the butter. Very moist, and very delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Great easy recipe! Tastes awesome! I used Pillsbury white cake mix with 2 eggs and 4 tbsp. of water as suggested in other reviews. I also used 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of Reese's peanut butter chips. Very moist yummy cookie/cake bar. I was able to easily cut these into 1x1 inch squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Made this with my 8 yr old and it was a hit! I did it with yellow cake mix and let him pick what he wanted to add. He chose milk choc. chips and white choc chips. It was so yummy! Can't wait to try all the different combos! I did add 4 Tbsp of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook-aka-mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
They're addictive! I followed the advice of others and altered: 1/4 cup water, 2 eggs, yellow cake mix, 1 cup choco chips, 1 cup butterscotch chips. Also, they're great chilled. A definite regular for dessert time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States