Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
For this recipe, I used an all natural vanilla cake mix and about 1 1/2 cups of Ghiradelli semisweet chips, and omitted the nuts. I also added and extra egg and vanilla based on other reviewers. I baked bars in a 12x8 disposable pan, so I cut the cooking time a bit. However, I ended up having to put them back in because they were a bit too undercooked. So, the cooking time is accurate even using a slightly smaller pan. Next time, I will cut the chips back due to the fact my cake mix was only 16oz, and not the typical 18.25 pkg. This is a delicious recipe and I would definitely make this again. I like it better than traditional cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Loved the idea, so adapted the recipe to work with a favorite brownie recipe. I used a Devil's food cake mix, added 1 teaspoon each vanilla, cinnamon, coffee extract,and sea salt. I used pecans instead of walnuts and eliminated the chocolate chips.Using the suggested 22 minute baking time from another post...they came out YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I have been making this recipe for several years and it is one of my favorite. Comes out perfect everytime. I always know these will be a big hit at any party. NOTE: The picture is from someone who used a chocolate cake mix - not a white cake mix as specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This recipe was easy, I added 3 Tbsp water and 1 tbsp oil, and no nuts. Tasted good, I also added melted chocolate chips on top...as if there wasn't enough chocolate already...delicious! Will try new variations of cake mix flavors with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
They looked perfect on the outside but were so under done they were inedible. I did get a taste of one of the edges and they probably would have been delicious if they had cooked through, thus the five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I love this recipe. I made it for the first time with lemon cake mix, didn't use any mix ins, and it was great. It was fine as is, but I could see how adding 1 more TBS of water might be good. So quick & easy, yet moist & rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I misread the recipe and it still came out great. I added 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup and the batter was very stiff, but it was very good. I will make this recipe again, this time won't have "3/4" in my head. For the chips, I used one cup white chocolate chips and 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks and did use chopped walnuts. I like the versatility of the recipe, you can add what you have on hand or like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome! I've never used cake mix to make anything but a cake. I changed the recipe as others suggested and they where perfect! Might be better than my step-mother's from scratch choco chip cookie version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
What a lifesaver! Needed something to bring the next day at school, was able to take what I had on hand and throw together quickly and it was great! Did use the extra water, semi-sweet chips, peanuts and white cake mix. Can't wait to try other combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Simple, easy & delicious all rolled into 1 recipe! Very yummy!! I did need to add 1/3 cup of water as others mentioned. Thanks so much for sharing ;)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States