Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
They looked perfect on the outside but were so under done they were inedible. I did get a taste of one of the edges and they probably would have been delicious if they had cooked through, thus the five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I love this recipe. I made it for the first time with lemon cake mix, didn't use any mix ins, and it was great. It was fine as is, but I could see how adding 1 more TBS of water might be good. So quick & easy, yet moist & rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I misread the recipe and it still came out great. I added 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup and the batter was very stiff, but it was very good. I will make this recipe again, this time won't have "3/4" in my head. For the chips, I used one cup white chocolate chips and 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks and did use chopped walnuts. I like the versatility of the recipe, you can add what you have on hand or like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome! I've never used cake mix to make anything but a cake. I changed the recipe as others suggested and they where perfect! Might be better than my step-mother's from scratch choco chip cookie version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
What a lifesaver! Needed something to bring the next day at school, was able to take what I had on hand and throw together quickly and it was great! Did use the extra water, semi-sweet chips, peanuts and white cake mix. Can't wait to try other combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Simple, easy & delicious all rolled into 1 recipe! Very yummy!! I did need to add 1/3 cup of water as others mentioned. Thanks so much for sharing ;)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Always a hit whenever I make it. I add the 1/3 cup water as others mentioned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Since many said these bar cookies were too sweet, I opted to not add the brown sugar. Why does this recipe need added sugar anyway? There is already sugar in the cake mix. I also added 1/3 cup water and baked it for 22 minutes as suggested by other reviewers. Very good, fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Very easy and tasty. I used chocolate chips and butterscotch chips. I regret using so much butterscotch because it was too sweet for my taste. Otherwise, these are nice for a quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
YUMMY!! Thank you so much. I had extra chips and this was perfect. Kids loved making them and everyone loved eating them. I actually had complaints that I didn't make enough. I did add the 1/3 cup of water and crushed walnuts. I also cooked for 30 minutes, they looked under cooked, but after they cooled they were perfect. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States