Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great recipe and so quick and easy to make. I followed the suggestion of adding 1/3 c water and the dough was still really thick. To make spreading it in the pan easier, I turned the wax bag from the cake mix inside out, put my hand into the bag and pressed the dough onto the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Great recipe! I added the 1/3 cup water as suggested, as well as a tsp. of vanilla and 2 tbsp of oil. I also used some candied walnuts I had in the cupboard. Baked only 22 minutes, but turned out chewy and yummy. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made these with banana cake mix and choc chips, omitted nuts. Batter was crumbly like cookie batter. These were SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS!!! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed the directions exactly, and these went over the top of my pan, and all over my oven! Also had to cook much longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
For this recipe, I used an all natural vanilla cake mix and about 1 1/2 cups of Ghiradelli semisweet chips, and omitted the nuts. I also added and extra egg and vanilla based on other reviewers. I baked bars in a 12x8 disposable pan, so I cut the cooking time a bit. However, I ended up having to put them back in because they were a bit too undercooked. So, the cooking time is accurate even using a slightly smaller pan. Next time, I will cut the chips back due to the fact my cake mix was only 16oz, and not the typical 18.25 pkg. This is a delicious recipe and I would definitely make this again. I like it better than traditional cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Loved the idea, so adapted the recipe to work with a favorite brownie recipe. I used a Devil's food cake mix, added 1 teaspoon each vanilla, cinnamon, coffee extract,and sea salt. I used pecans instead of walnuts and eliminated the chocolate chips.Using the suggested 22 minute baking time from another post...they came out YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I have been making this recipe for several years and it is one of my favorite. Comes out perfect everytime. I always know these will be a big hit at any party. NOTE: The picture is from someone who used a chocolate cake mix - not a white cake mix as specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This recipe was easy, I added 3 Tbsp water and 1 tbsp oil, and no nuts. Tasted good, I also added melted chocolate chips on top...as if there wasn't enough chocolate already...delicious! Will try new variations of cake mix flavors with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
They looked perfect on the outside but were so under done they were inedible. I did get a taste of one of the edges and they probably would have been delicious if they had cooked through, thus the five star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I love this recipe. I made it for the first time with lemon cake mix, didn't use any mix ins, and it was great. It was fine as is, but I could see how adding 1 more TBS of water might be good. So quick & easy, yet moist & rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States