Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used funfetti cake mix and the little pieces of funfetti made a nice addition to these bar cookies. Easy to mix, nice and chocolatey, was done right at 30 min. No fuss, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this exactly as instructed. I probably would have made some of the recommended changes if I had the opportunity to read the reviews before starting them. But I didn't, and I'm glad. THey are totally perfect! Yummy, crispy outside, gooey inside. Couldn't have picked a better recipe to try. Just like someone else said - as if brownies and cookies had babies. :) I tried chocolate cake mix with white chocolate chips and yellow cake mix with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Both are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Scimeca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Great flavor, made the recipe exactly as listed, except for the nuts. Although the flavor was excellent and my kids, 9 and 6 liked it, if was very crumbly and messy. Needs a bit of a binding agent to hold it together, maybe another egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious! Like a chewy chocolate chip cookie. I followed other users' suggestions and used 2 eggs and 4 Tbsp of water and some vanilla exctract. I added a bag of toffee chips along with the semi sweet chips. Easy to make and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittney
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These are VERY good. I can cook and bake most anything.. but Chocolate chip cookies seem to always get the best of me. These were very easy to make and like I said, VERY good. I used Funfetti Cake Mix-which made them turn out very cute and festive looking.. I followed other comments and added the extra water because it looked WAY too dry. I didn't put in the walnuts because I didn't have any on hand. My husband, son, and neighbor loved them though, so that's all that matters. Only thing... they may need left in the oven a BIT longer than it says.. and make sure you wait til they cool to cut them. It's hard, I know.. but it DOES make all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Really good! I didn't have walnuts, but I didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Yum! So easy, my 6yo was able to do most of it. The only thing that I changed was I used two eggs instead of adding water, and used a yellow cake mix because that's what was in my cupboard. Excellent cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
to much like a cake, expected something more like a cookie. to much flavor like a cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
as written these are pretty decent - tastes similar to the traditional toll house cookie bars, really. however, i think i prefer the toll house recipe...but this has potential. i think this recipe would be great with alterations - changing up the cake mix and add-ins to create new flavor combos. i bet spice cake mix or a double chocolate mix with chips would be amazing. i will keep this recipe to try again with new cake mix and filling, but probably wouldn't make them with the white cake mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
All I did different was add a bit more water. This recipe turned out great. Who could ask for more than soft, chewy bars?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States