Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My 10yo made this recipe with me just watching from nearby. Super easy, and soo sooo good. The only change is we did add just a touch more water to make it a little thinner. Definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Great starter recipe that makes an awesome cookie birthday cake...thanks Penny! Recommend adding extra egg, 2 tablespoons additional water...tweak however you like...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Ooops, I used 2/3 cup water (someone suggested 1/3) I'll let you know how that turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
So, my biggest mistake making these is that I took them out of the oven after 35 minutes and figured they looked done, so I didn't test them with a knife. Not wise for they were NOT done. After I let them cool I cut them and discovered that I should have left them in longer. The edges were salvagable, but I had to throw the middle away. Even after adding a healthy glug of vanilla these still had the "from a box" taste to me. I will make these again because they are so easy and I do think they have potential... Just next time I will make sure to test them before I turn the oven off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These are so simple & easy. I make these all of the time. Made today with Funfetti Cake mix & M & M's for a picnic. They look yummy. Great to make for Bake Sales, Girl Scouts & Potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANLIE0301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made these tonight and they were amazing! I used a Duncan Hines Butter Golden cake mix and made it exactly as the recipe called for. I only baked them for about 20-22 minutes in a convection oven. (instead of 30-35 as called for) I didn't add the nuts being my husband doesn't care for nuts. They were moist and hard to stop eating!! I will definitely make them again! I may try a different flavor cake mix next time also! Thank you for this great and easy cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Fast, easy bar cookie. I had a box of Christmas Holiday Confetti cake mix to use up. Found this recipe to very good and I had all the ingredients on hand. DH thought they were great and proceeded to eat most of them in 2 days. You could make this recipe with any combination of cake mix and flavored chips. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I made these tonight for a bake sale. Just to say they are great would be a understatement. For how quick, easy and inexpensive they are to make they are fabulous! I used 2 eggs, no water and a tsp of vanilla like the other comments suggested. I also sprinkled some rainbow chip sprinkles on the top to make them fun for kids. I gave a end piece to my husband and he had no clue they were made with a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used funfetti cake mix and the little pieces of funfetti made a nice addition to these bar cookies. Easy to mix, nice and chocolatey, was done right at 30 min. No fuss, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this exactly as instructed. I probably would have made some of the recommended changes if I had the opportunity to read the reviews before starting them. But I didn't, and I'm glad. THey are totally perfect! Yummy, crispy outside, gooey inside. Couldn't have picked a better recipe to try. Just like someone else said - as if brownies and cookies had babies. :) I tried chocolate cake mix with white chocolate chips and yellow cake mix with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Both are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Scimeca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States