Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Brittney
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
These are VERY good. I can cook and bake most anything.. but Chocolate chip cookies seem to always get the best of me. These were very easy to make and like I said, VERY good. I used Funfetti Cake Mix-which made them turn out very cute and festive looking.. I followed other comments and added the extra water because it looked WAY too dry. I didn't put in the walnuts because I didn't have any on hand. My husband, son, and neighbor loved them though, so that's all that matters. Only thing... they may need left in the oven a BIT longer than it says.. and make sure you wait til they cool to cut them. It's hard, I know.. but it DOES make all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Really good! I didn't have walnuts, but I didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Yum! So easy, my 6yo was able to do most of it. The only thing that I changed was I used two eggs instead of adding water, and used a yellow cake mix because that's what was in my cupboard. Excellent cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
to much like a cake, expected something more like a cookie. to much flavor like a cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
as written these are pretty decent - tastes similar to the traditional toll house cookie bars, really. however, i think i prefer the toll house recipe...but this has potential. i think this recipe would be great with alterations - changing up the cake mix and add-ins to create new flavor combos. i bet spice cake mix or a double chocolate mix with chips would be amazing. i will keep this recipe to try again with new cake mix and filling, but probably wouldn't make them with the white cake mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
All I did different was add a bit more water. This recipe turned out great. Who could ask for more than soft, chewy bars?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
YUM!!! My family loved this recipe! I added 1/2 cup water and 2 tsp. vanilla, and I sprinkled sea salt on top. A super yummy, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Gave it 5 stars because I read the reviews first. It came out PERFECT with 1/4 c water and two eggs. Best darned cookie bar I ever made! Making it again today. Hubby LOVES it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
After reading the reviews on these I made them as written except for adding 1 tsp of vanilla and upping the water to 4tablespoons. These were delicious! Moist and chewy and baked perfectly after about 28 minutes in the oven! We will be making these again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States