Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I made this as written except I used a funfetti cake because that's what I had on hand and I used two eggs and 4t of water per reviews. This was very good and my entire family loved it. I would say it is best described as one reviewer said as a cross between a brownie and a cookie. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was because it was VERY sweet. This is coming from a person who is a big sweets eater. It is very seldom that I have to stop eating something because of it being so rich and sweet but that was the case with these bars. I think next time I will try it without the brown sugar and see how it turns out. There will be a next time for sure as I plan on trying it with lots of other cake mix flavor/mix in combinations. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I was looking for something quick to send with my daughter to a sleepover. This was super easy and turned out excellent. I did add 1/3 cup of water instead of the 2 tablespoons as suggested in other reviews because I was afraid it might be too dry. It turned out perfect. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made this recipe last night and it was wonderful. I used a gluten-free cake mix that was only 15 oz. (instead of the 18 oz. mix required by the recipe) and it came out great! I cooked it at my boyfriend's house, and he doesn't have an electric mixer. Still - it turned out so good. We ate it warm from the oven with vanilla ice cream. I'll definitely be making this again because it was quick, easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I tried it with funfetti cake mix and no mix ins. It was a hit and I'm sure it was just as good how it is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
this is a wonderful recipe... instead of walnuts and choc chips as called I put in 2oz of sliced almonds, 2/3 cup of coconut, and 2 cups of extra large choc chips. I get lots of compliments on these bar cookies. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My friend's mother has a great recipe for chocolate chip bars that I couldn't find so I came on here to look. This isn't it because I remembered her recipe utilized oil and no additional sugar but this is fairly close. I made the modifications I could remember and used oil instead of butter (a little less than a half cup), chopped walnuts, and sprinkled with powdered sugar. I baked for 20 minutes and they came out pretty darn close to my friend's mother's. With that said, I'm giving this 3 stars because a) other reviewers seem to also have their own version so this one can be that amazing and b) the additional sugar and bake time really confuse me. These bars are already very very sweet and at 20 minutes, mine came out perfectly cooked...I even thought about undercooking them next time to get them softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These came out great! I made as directed but used yellow mix, chocolate and butterscotch chips. I only baked for 22 mins and they are chewy and good. Husband loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made these last night as written and they turned out well. I baked for 35 minutes, but maybe should have taken them out at 30, as they are slightly crispy, especially the edge pieces. I used chocolate covered raisins, but am looking forward to making this again using different cake mixes and add-ins. I highly recommend this if you're baking with children - almost no mess; it's pretty much dump, mix and bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My 10yo made this recipe with me just watching from nearby. Super easy, and soo sooo good. The only change is we did add just a touch more water to make it a little thinner. Definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Great starter recipe that makes an awesome cookie birthday cake...thanks Penny! Recommend adding extra egg, 2 tablespoons additional water...tweak however you like...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States