Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So easy and no scooping out individual cookies! one and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This recipe is a great starting point but I did take the hints of others here and added an additional egg, 2 more tablespoons of water, 2 tablespoons vegetable oil and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. The bars did take a little longer to bake, however (about 40 minutes), but they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
AWESOME!!!! I made this spur of the moment with chocolate cake mix and 1/4 c water. Came out like a delicious brownie! Very good! I bet it is just as good with yellow mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have made this so many ways and times we love it! I do add more water 1/3 cup + 1 TBLSP. I also have a grandson with an egg allergy (no whites) so I made this with 2 egg yokes instead they turned out fantastic. We couldn't tell the difference. I do reduce the cooking time to 30 min. I start checking them at 25 do not overcook these they will get hard. Very easy quick dessert YUMMY!! thanks for sharing NOTE: they are thick to spread in pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Just out of the oven.... I used a Halloween cake mix I got on clearance and followed the suggested modifications. 1/3 c of water, two eggs instead of one, a splash of oil, and a teaspoon of vanilla. Mine took 32 minutes to bake to perfection. Not too well done at all! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Heston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was great! I made it for the fire department fundraiser, used caramel chips, chocolate chips, and walnuts. It took a little longer than 35 minutes to bake, but the bars were not hard like some reviewers found. I did increase the water two more tablespoons. It was quite sweet, probably due in part by the caramel chips, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
My son said these were the best. As others had commented, I chose to alter by using 2 eggs, 1/4 cup water, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and baked for only 18 minutes since my little oven cooks very fast. Also my cake mix that I just happened to have was 16.5 oz., I added the entire 12 oz bag of chocolate chips and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
These are amazing and I cannot wait to make them again! I added more water and an extra egg like other reviewers suggested, kept the rest as is and they were perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight and it was a hit! I increased the water to 4 T. as others indicated. I also baked it in two, 9" cake pans instead of a 9 x 13 for 25 minutes at 325 degrees (my pans are dark, so I reduced the temperature by 25 degrees). Then, I wrote "Happy Birthday" in frosting on the top. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Terrific soft chewy bars. I think I had success because I baked them at 325 on convection for 30 min until golden. After reading other reviews, I used yellow cake mix, 1/3 c. light brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1/4 c. water and 1 1/2 c mixture of white and dark choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States