Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
AWESOME!!!! I made this spur of the moment with chocolate cake mix and 1/4 c water. Came out like a delicious brownie! Very good! I bet it is just as good with yellow mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I have made this so many ways and times we love it! I do add more water 1/3 cup + 1 TBLSP. I also have a grandson with an egg allergy (no whites) so I made this with 2 egg yokes instead they turned out fantastic. We couldn't tell the difference. I do reduce the cooking time to 30 min. I start checking them at 25 do not overcook these they will get hard. Very easy quick dessert YUMMY!! thanks for sharing NOTE: they are thick to spread in pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Just out of the oven.... I used a Halloween cake mix I got on clearance and followed the suggested modifications. 1/3 c of water, two eggs instead of one, a splash of oil, and a teaspoon of vanilla. Mine took 32 minutes to bake to perfection. Not too well done at all! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was great! I made it for the fire department fundraiser, used caramel chips, chocolate chips, and walnuts. It took a little longer than 35 minutes to bake, but the bars were not hard like some reviewers found. I did increase the water two more tablespoons. It was quite sweet, probably due in part by the caramel chips, but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
My son said these were the best. As others had commented, I chose to alter by using 2 eggs, 1/4 cup water, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and baked for only 18 minutes since my little oven cooks very fast. Also my cake mix that I just happened to have was 16.5 oz., I added the entire 12 oz bag of chocolate chips and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsPenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsboro, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
These are amazing and I cannot wait to make them again! I added more water and an extra egg like other reviewers suggested, kept the rest as is and they were perfect! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight and it was a hit! I increased the water to 4 T. as others indicated. I also baked it in two, 9" cake pans instead of a 9 x 13 for 25 minutes at 325 degrees (my pans are dark, so I reduced the temperature by 25 degrees). Then, I wrote "Happy Birthday" in frosting on the top. Very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Terrific soft chewy bars. I think I had success because I baked them at 325 on convection for 30 min until golden. After reading other reviews, I used yellow cake mix, 1/3 c. light brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1/4 c. water and 1 1/2 c mixture of white and dark choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This recipe is 5 star as others stated. Used a yellow cake mix, made an adjustment as others suggested & did 1 more step. Same thing I do when making brownies. Added 1 Tablespoon of Karo Syrup (corn syrup)This step makes a a chewie cookie! Make sure it's just golden brown. Mine baked in 25 minutes. Dessert is best made the day before. Flavors blend & mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Four stars because this is so easy and I needed something quick, that would travel well. I followed other reviewer's advice and added and extra egg, vanilla and increased the water to 1/4 cup. Vanilla helped to improve the "cake mix" flavor that I don't usually like. Turns out like a chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States