Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I misread the recipe and it still came out great. I added 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup and the batter was very stiff, but it was very good. I will make this recipe again, this time won't have "3/4" in my head. For the chips, I used one cup white chocolate chips and 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chunks and did use chopped walnuts. I like the versatility of the recipe, you can add what you have on hand or like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome! I've never used cake mix to make anything but a cake. I changed the recipe as others suggested and they where perfect! Might be better than my step-mother's from scratch choco chip cookie version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
What a lifesaver! Needed something to bring the next day at school, was able to take what I had on hand and throw together quickly and it was great! Did use the extra water, semi-sweet chips, peanuts and white cake mix. Can't wait to try other combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Simple, easy & delicious all rolled into 1 recipe! Very yummy!! I did need to add 1/3 cup of water as others mentioned. Thanks so much for sharing ;)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Always a hit whenever I make it. I add the 1/3 cup water as others mentioned
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Since many said these bar cookies were too sweet, I opted to not add the brown sugar. Why does this recipe need added sugar anyway? There is already sugar in the cake mix. I also added 1/3 cup water and baked it for 22 minutes as suggested by other reviewers. Very good, fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Very easy and tasty. I used chocolate chips and butterscotch chips. I regret using so much butterscotch because it was too sweet for my taste. Otherwise, these are nice for a quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
YUMMY!! Thank you so much. I had extra chips and this was perfect. Kids loved making them and everyone loved eating them. I actually had complaints that I didn't make enough. I did add the 1/3 cup of water and crushed walnuts. I also cooked for 30 minutes, they looked under cooked, but after they cooled they were perfect. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These looked so good that I decided to make them. Right away I realized that they would not be "chocolate" unless I used chocolate cake mix. So I substituted (can anyone say otherwise?). I went on following the instructions The ratio of dry and wet ingredients left it unmixable (too dry). So I read other reviews and decided to add another egg and more water. When I got it to a typical brownie consistancy, I spread it in a pan. My pan may have been slighly larger than what is in the recipe, but there was barely enough batter to cover it. I would suggest a 10 x 10 pan. Anyway, the brownies are good, but too many changes are needed to make the recipe work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Not bad. I used a white cake and I found the bars to be pretty sweet. Next time I will try a chocolate cake mix and possibly lower the sugar like some of the other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States