Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My 10yo made this recipe with me just watching from nearby. Super easy, and soo sooo good. The only change is we did add just a touch more water to make it a little thinner. Definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Great starter recipe that makes an awesome cookie birthday cake...thanks Penny! Recommend adding extra egg, 2 tablespoons additional water...tweak however you like...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Ooops, I used 2/3 cup water (someone suggested 1/3) I'll let you know how that turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
So, my biggest mistake making these is that I took them out of the oven after 35 minutes and figured they looked done, so I didn't test them with a knife. Not wise for they were NOT done. After I let them cool I cut them and discovered that I should have left them in longer. The edges were salvagable, but I had to throw the middle away. Even after adding a healthy glug of vanilla these still had the "from a box" taste to me. I will make these again because they are so easy and I do think they have potential... Just next time I will make sure to test them before I turn the oven off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These are so simple & easy. I make these all of the time. Made today with Funfetti Cake mix & M & M's for a picnic. They look yummy. Great to make for Bake Sales, Girl Scouts & Potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANLIE0301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made these tonight and they were amazing! I used a Duncan Hines Butter Golden cake mix and made it exactly as the recipe called for. I only baked them for about 20-22 minutes in a convection oven. (instead of 30-35 as called for) I didn't add the nuts being my husband doesn't care for nuts. They were moist and hard to stop eating!! I will definitely make them again! I may try a different flavor cake mix next time also! Thank you for this great and easy cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Fast, easy bar cookie. I had a box of Christmas Holiday Confetti cake mix to use up. Found this recipe to very good and I had all the ingredients on hand. DH thought they were great and proceeded to eat most of them in 2 days. You could make this recipe with any combination of cake mix and flavored chips. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I made these tonight for a bake sale. Just to say they are great would be a understatement. For how quick, easy and inexpensive they are to make they are fabulous! I used 2 eggs, no water and a tsp of vanilla like the other comments suggested. I also sprinkled some rainbow chip sprinkles on the top to make them fun for kids. I gave a end piece to my husband and he had no clue they were made with a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used funfetti cake mix and the little pieces of funfetti made a nice addition to these bar cookies. Easy to mix, nice and chocolatey, was done right at 30 min. No fuss, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this exactly as instructed. I probably would have made some of the recommended changes if I had the opportunity to read the reviews before starting them. But I didn't, and I'm glad. THey are totally perfect! Yummy, crispy outside, gooey inside. Couldn't have picked a better recipe to try. Just like someone else said - as if brownies and cookies had babies. :) I tried chocolate cake mix with white chocolate chips and yellow cake mix with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Both are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Scimeca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States