Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Great recipe! I used a chocolate cake mix with 3 eggs and no water for the best brownies ever. Don't bake them too long! I also added chocolate chips to the batter before they were baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Super good! I made 2 batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
such a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I used a dark chocolate cake mix and added chocolate chips and chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
These were delicious! I used a french vanilla cake mix, and 4 T of water like suggested by others. They are so yummy, and a hit with the family! Exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Loved this recipe! I added an extra egg as suggested and a little oil and these were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I like how versatile this recipe is... the first time, I made it as written except with yellow cake mix, 1/2 cup butterscotch and 1 cup semisweet chips. The second time I used dark chocolate cake mix, the same butterscotch and semisweet mix, and applesauce in place of butter. I actually liked the lower-fat version better. Watch the cooking time though, 25 minutes is all you need, unless you want crunchy bars. :) Oh, the first time I added 4 tbsp. water and I thought they were a little dry... 1/4 cup is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These were very easy to make, but mine were kind of like boring blondie brownies. I will probably try again with different combonations (I tried yellow cake mix with toffee pieces).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I had a recipe like this several years ago and had lost it. These are wonderful. I use a yellow cake mix and add an extra egg. Just like blond brownies but easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
We loved this recipe. I have the Pampered Chef large bar pan and this fits it perfectly. I have made this twice. Once with Dark Chocolate cake mix, adding chopped almonds and heath bar bits instead of the walnuts, and once using a regular chocolate cake mix, with 1tsp of mint extract added with the egg and water. I also omitted the walnuts that time. I used parchment paper with the mint batch and nothing stuck. The previous time, I brushed my stoneware with just a touch of oil, because chocolate chips can cause sticking. This is an awesome recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States