Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
It was late and I was craving chocolate. All I had was cake mix, it was good! I wish I could have added chocolate chips. Used 1/3 c. water and baked for 21 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These were sooo good!!!I did make a couple of alterations though. I added 1/3 cup of water and 2 eggs. At first this looks like too much liquid by itself, but then when you mix the cake mix in you know why you need that much liquid. I also skipped the nuts and chocolate chips and just added butterscotch chips. The result was a super yummy, moist, cake like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I thought these turned out great - plus they were very easy to make. I used a yellow cake mix since I did not have a white one and did not use as many chocolate chips and nuts as called for (probably 1/3 c nuts and 3/4 bag of chocolate chips). My husband liked them but said they were a little softer than he likes them, so I am sure I will be trying other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
One of the best bar cookies I have made. I did use as suggested, 1/4 cup of water and 2 eggs... cooked for 30 minutes and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I'm constantly baking for my church's bake sales and coffee hours and I have little time to spare. I used this great basic recipe to bake for our latest bake sale. I figured I had some cake mixes on hand and it was quick and easy. I decided against the choc-chip variety because I know there will be a ton of that at the bake sale. My combination was: Spice Cake Mix instead of a white cake and instead of choc. chips- toffee bits. So the end product is spice bars with toffee and walnuts- they are moist, yummy and will be great with coffee. Thanks for a great basic recipe that I can change weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I only had a cherry chip/white mix. I put in white and chocolate chips. I thought they were tasty, but they were very sweet with the cherry flavoring. I didn't have any nuts either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
very rich flavor. excellant for kids of all ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
These are truly delicious. They came out even better than I expected. I had a yellow butter cake mix. I didn't add any nuts because I was unsure if who I was making them for had an allergy or not. I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I used a french vanilla cake mix with the recipe and used half peanut butter chocolate swirl chips and chocolate chips. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Blah... I have to say, these were the least favorite thing I've made from this site! I couldn't believe how they just totally fell apart. They also were, honestly, much too sweet even after reducing the chocolate by half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States