Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Edible, but not good. Would probably be better if made with white chocolate chips, cranberries, and oatmeal as other reviewers tried. As is, doesn't taste much like a chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made these last week because I needed something to take to an open house, and I wanted to make a bar cookie (therefore something quick)with ingredients I had on hand. So here's my take....way too sweet! Holy cow! And a bit too oily. But, very tasty! I had a very similar recipe that my neighbor gave me three years ago, and that my daughters love to make. It calls for the cake mix, a 1/2 cup of oil (instead of butter), NO ADDED SUGAR, 2 eggs (rather than 1), 2 TBS. water, and the chips and nuts. You make regular drop cookies with this, and bake them for 8-10 minutes. This is a fantastic recipe for young kids, and it is extremely versatile. We usually make it with M&M's in place of the chips, and no nuts, but we have also used chocolate cake mix and peanut butter chips. I now always keep cake mixes in the pantry for when the girls want to bake cookies (this is also a good project for them to do on play dates). So, last night I had a yen to make these bar cookies again, but I used this older recipe, but with only about 1/3 cup of sofened butter instead of the oil, and only 1 cup of chocolate chips. Delicious! Perfect! I would definitely recommend that you try this variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I love this recipe for the simplicity (one bowl, one spoon, one measuring cup, and one pan), but these cookies are so yummy too! I have made them twice - once with a white cake mix and once with a yellow cake mix. Both were good - I actually preferred the yellow, it had more of a vanilla taste. People love these and have no idea how easy they are to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly as it was written, baked for 30 minutes, and they are so soft and so yummy. I'm enjoying one now with a glass of milk--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FKM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Yummy recipe! I made this one because I was low on eggs, and it was soooo yummy! My kids loved them. I used a golden butter cake mix and added some chocolate chips and chopped pecans. I think I might try this one with a chocolate cake mix next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
It was late and I was craving chocolate. All I had was cake mix, it was good! I wish I could have added chocolate chips. Used 1/3 c. water and baked for 21 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These were sooo good!!!I did make a couple of alterations though. I added 1/3 cup of water and 2 eggs. At first this looks like too much liquid by itself, but then when you mix the cake mix in you know why you need that much liquid. I also skipped the nuts and chocolate chips and just added butterscotch chips. The result was a super yummy, moist, cake like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I thought these turned out great - plus they were very easy to make. I used a yellow cake mix since I did not have a white one and did not use as many chocolate chips and nuts as called for (probably 1/3 c nuts and 3/4 bag of chocolate chips). My husband liked them but said they were a little softer than he likes them, so I am sure I will be trying other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
One of the best bar cookies I have made. I did use as suggested, 1/4 cup of water and 2 eggs... cooked for 30 minutes and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I'm constantly baking for my church's bake sales and coffee hours and I have little time to spare. I used this great basic recipe to bake for our latest bake sale. I figured I had some cake mixes on hand and it was quick and easy. I decided against the choc-chip variety because I know there will be a ton of that at the bake sale. My combination was: Spice Cake Mix instead of a white cake and instead of choc. chips- toffee bits. So the end product is spice bars with toffee and walnuts- they are moist, yummy and will be great with coffee. Thanks for a great basic recipe that I can change weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States