Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Yummy recipe! I made this one because I was low on eggs, and it was soooo yummy! My kids loved them. I used a golden butter cake mix and added some chocolate chips and chopped pecans. I think I might try this one with a chocolate cake mix next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
It was late and I was craving chocolate. All I had was cake mix, it was good! I wish I could have added chocolate chips. Used 1/3 c. water and baked for 21 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
These were sooo good!!!I did make a couple of alterations though. I added 1/3 cup of water and 2 eggs. At first this looks like too much liquid by itself, but then when you mix the cake mix in you know why you need that much liquid. I also skipped the nuts and chocolate chips and just added butterscotch chips. The result was a super yummy, moist, cake like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I thought these turned out great - plus they were very easy to make. I used a yellow cake mix since I did not have a white one and did not use as many chocolate chips and nuts as called for (probably 1/3 c nuts and 3/4 bag of chocolate chips). My husband liked them but said they were a little softer than he likes them, so I am sure I will be trying other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
One of the best bar cookies I have made. I did use as suggested, 1/4 cup of water and 2 eggs... cooked for 30 minutes and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I'm constantly baking for my church's bake sales and coffee hours and I have little time to spare. I used this great basic recipe to bake for our latest bake sale. I figured I had some cake mixes on hand and it was quick and easy. I decided against the choc-chip variety because I know there will be a ton of that at the bake sale. My combination was: Spice Cake Mix instead of a white cake and instead of choc. chips- toffee bits. So the end product is spice bars with toffee and walnuts- they are moist, yummy and will be great with coffee. Thanks for a great basic recipe that I can change weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I only had a cherry chip/white mix. I put in white and chocolate chips. I thought they were tasty, but they were very sweet with the cherry flavoring. I didn't have any nuts either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
very rich flavor. excellant for kids of all ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
These are truly delicious. They came out even better than I expected. I had a yellow butter cake mix. I didn't add any nuts because I was unsure if who I was making them for had an allergy or not. I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I used a french vanilla cake mix with the recipe and used half peanut butter chocolate swirl chips and chocolate chips. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States