Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by momofmy4crazykids
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made these using a choc. cake mix and this is my new brownie recipe, I can't make brownies to save my life! These bars taste like an amazing brownie, I can't wait to try with another flavor cake mix, yum! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I followed other's reviews and added 5 T of water and 2 eggs. I used chocolate cake mix and chocolate and peanut butter chips. My family and guests loved them...this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
These were excellent. Didn't take long for them to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I absolutely LOVED these, I used 4 tablespoons of water instead of 2 and they came out perfect! I also used yellow cake mix and I used hershey's baking morsels filled with caramel, GREAT!! My whole family loved them and they were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
These were sooo good!! I brought them to school for my friend's birthday and all of our friends just loved them!! Many of them asked for the recipe! I will definitely try making this again and experiment using different cake mixes! Thanks so much for this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Edible, but not good. Would probably be better if made with white chocolate chips, cranberries, and oatmeal as other reviewers tried. As is, doesn't taste much like a chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made these last week because I needed something to take to an open house, and I wanted to make a bar cookie (therefore something quick)with ingredients I had on hand. So here's my take....way too sweet! Holy cow! And a bit too oily. But, very tasty! I had a very similar recipe that my neighbor gave me three years ago, and that my daughters love to make. It calls for the cake mix, a 1/2 cup of oil (instead of butter), NO ADDED SUGAR, 2 eggs (rather than 1), 2 TBS. water, and the chips and nuts. You make regular drop cookies with this, and bake them for 8-10 minutes. This is a fantastic recipe for young kids, and it is extremely versatile. We usually make it with M&M's in place of the chips, and no nuts, but we have also used chocolate cake mix and peanut butter chips. I now always keep cake mixes in the pantry for when the girls want to bake cookies (this is also a good project for them to do on play dates). So, last night I had a yen to make these bar cookies again, but I used this older recipe, but with only about 1/3 cup of sofened butter instead of the oil, and only 1 cup of chocolate chips. Delicious! Perfect! I would definitely recommend that you try this variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I love this recipe for the simplicity (one bowl, one spoon, one measuring cup, and one pan), but these cookies are so yummy too! I have made them twice - once with a white cake mix and once with a yellow cake mix. Both were good - I actually preferred the yellow, it had more of a vanilla taste. People love these and have no idea how easy they are to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly as it was written, baked for 30 minutes, and they are so soft and so yummy. I'm enjoying one now with a glass of milk--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FKM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Yummy recipe! I made this one because I was low on eggs, and it was soooo yummy! My kids loved them. I used a golden butter cake mix and added some chocolate chips and chopped pecans. I think I might try this one with a chocolate cake mix next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States