Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I'm constantly baking for my church's bake sales and coffee hours and I have little time to spare. I used this great basic recipe to bake for our latest bake sale. I figured I had some cake mixes on hand and it was quick and easy. I decided against the choc-chip variety because I know there will be a ton of that at the bake sale. My combination was: Spice Cake Mix instead of a white cake and instead of choc. chips- toffee bits. So the end product is spice bars with toffee and walnuts- they are moist, yummy and will be great with coffee. Thanks for a great basic recipe that I can change weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I only had a cherry chip/white mix. I put in white and chocolate chips. I thought they were tasty, but they were very sweet with the cherry flavoring. I didn't have any nuts either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
very rich flavor. excellant for kids of all ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
These are truly delicious. They came out even better than I expected. I had a yellow butter cake mix. I didn't add any nuts because I was unsure if who I was making them for had an allergy or not. I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I used a french vanilla cake mix with the recipe and used half peanut butter chocolate swirl chips and chocolate chips. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Blah... I have to say, these were the least favorite thing I've made from this site! I couldn't believe how they just totally fell apart. They also were, honestly, much too sweet even after reducing the chocolate by half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I made these this week to take to my bible study group. I used Duncan Hines Golden Vanilla cake mix and I used ground up pecans on top. Absolutely delicious! I did not bring a single piece home, and had to fight for my own taste! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Very good! I used a chocolate cake mix and took the advice of other readers and used two eggs and 3 tbsp on water. Added m&ms and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I'm rating these a 3 because everyone really liked them (my brother LOVED them) but I didn't care for them. They were just too sweet for me and I love sweets. If I make these again I don't think I'll add any extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I made this since I needed a dessert and only had a yellow cake mix.....everyone loved them...I did use chocolate/carmel swirl chips & pecans...Do not overbake & cool completely. Great & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States