Bar Cookies from Cake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
EASTER: Doubled with 2 strawberry mixes, 1-C butter, 1-C brown sugar, 1/2-C water, 3 eggs, & 1-12oz-bag Easter M&Ms cooked in an 11"x17" cookie sheet...cut 5x8=40 ~2x2 bars...about 30 min...cooled, glaze drizzled & sprinkled with easter sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Beard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
It was ok. I think cookies should just stay cookies ditto for cake. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Made this tonight because I was craving something sweet. I added a mixture of dark and light brown sugar. 3 tbsp water and my cake mix 2 as only 8.5 ounces. Also added a little vanilla. Baked for 20 mins and these came put delicious! Especially the edges that are crispy. They were a hit with my family. They are already requesting more. Can't wait to try other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
As suggested by others, used a yellow cake mix, 2 eggs, 4 Tbl water, subbed pecans, butter flavored Crisco instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I would've given this maybe a 2.5 star. It tasted too much like cake mix to me. I think the effort it took to make this, I would just rather make it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shoeyy
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I tried this last night and they turned out great! I changed the water to 1/3c and only cooked for 27 min in my gas oven and they turned out amazing! :) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Rust
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
It was unclear if I was supposed to add the oil, eggs and water that the cake mix called for. I added another egg and some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Wow! Easy and SO good. I did follow the advice others posted and increased the water to 1/3 cup, but otherwise followed the instructions as written. This is a great recipe to play with the flavor combos. Tonight I used Devil's Food cake, Ghirardelli double chocolate chips and chopped pecans. My oven is pretty true-to-temperature, so 30 minutes was perfect. Again, wow! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
We loved this recipe and I can't to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is our go to bake sale bar. Whenever cake mixes are on sale, I buy several to have on hand to make these bars. We follow other's suggestions and use a 1/4 cup water. My favorite combo is yellow cake mix and toffee chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States