Bar Chicks - Blackened Chicken Sliders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 06, April 2013 ~ We had 2 selections this week, this being one of them. My family loved these little sliders that I served on Hawaiian rolls. I did only use 1 cup of white wine (Pinot Grigio) in the marinade, but kept the other ingredients to the amounts listed. Everyone really enjoyed the chipotle aioli and the flavor that it added to the sandwiches. I served these with coleslaw and baked ‘Chip Truck Fries’ from AR. Recipe was a hit and will be a good summer sandwich that I look forward to trying on the grill. Thanks cloud2sunshine for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
These were excellent! I didn't change anything about the recipe as it was well written and very clear other than I used a smokey sharp cheese and mini ciabatta rolls that I brushed with olive oil and grilled a bit for some crunch. I have been battling some serious stomach issues and I didn't find these to spicy they had a good balance of flavor. We inhaled these and we will be making them again. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I may be biased as this was my recipe, but I love it. Yes, it can be a very spicy seasoning rub, but you can put as little or as much as youd like or use something different to suit your tastes as others have done. I am so glad so many people are enjoying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloud2sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Delicious chicken sliders! Messy but yummy! They had a great flavor although, not for the faint of heart when it comes to spice. One cup of white wine would have been plenty for the marinade. I only marinaded about 4 hours and it was still delicious. I'm sure it would be even better if it marinated overnight. The blackened seasoning was salty and spicy. I like a medium level of spiciness and next time I would cut cayenne in half as well as the salt. I served these on small onion rolls with arugula and sliced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made these today! I made the recipe exactly as is and they were awesome. I served them to a group of picky eaters for the playoff game. There were none left! Next time I will use only one cup of wine and a little less smoked chipotle. That is just for personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
The first time I made these I thought they were delicious, but my husnamd didn't care for them. This inspired me for a great sandwich the second time around, and it cut the prep time down to practically nothing, and my husband liked them even more. I was in a crunch so I skipped the marinade and blackended seasoning, and just seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder and creole seasoning (you don't need much, as the mayo is already so flavorful). I replaced the onions with a slaw that added great crunch (bagged cabbage and added oil, vinegar, lime juice, salt, pepper and a bit of sugar). I then topped the sandwich with some thick slices of bacon and the mayo as written int the recipe and they were amazing! The mayo is incredible...definitely the star of the show and can make anything delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was a great starting point for a fabulous recipe! We used lemon instead of lime juice in the marinade, only 1 cup of white wine (per other reviews) and probably marinated it for only 6 hours, but it turned out perfectly. We used a blackening seasoning we already had and the chicken was the hit of our dinner party. We had lots of compliments on the aioli, though we did substitute ancho chili powder instead of chipotle due to availability. Thank you so much for the great recipe - these fabulous chicken sandwiches will definitely be making it into our regular recipe rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
The chicken is very tasty. The overall taste is interesting (unusual and good). But 5 stars? No. This isn't the sort of thing you make when your mother-in-law visits so that you can secretly smirk when she takes her first bite. This isn't as good as the best chicken sandwich I've ever tasted. It's an above-average chicken sandwich that requires a considerably above-average effort and list of ingredients to put together. Definitely worth trying, but definitely not worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Recipe group pick 4/6/13: We enjoyed these, but for our taste, I think the wine flavor was a little too noticeable and the aioli needed more flavor. I grilled the chicken after about 8 hours in the marinade, and am glad I didn't marinate longer. We rarely have american cheese so I used sharp cheddar. With slight alterations to the marinade and aioli, we'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I thought this was a cool idea! I used chicken tenders and made mini sliders. To get the best flavor out of the onions, you need to caramelize them slowly and until they're a rich brown. The chipotle was a nice addition too. Thanks for sharing. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Chicken

See how to make a spicy, Cajun-style blackened chicken.

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States