Bar-B-Que Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe is to die for...it is sooo good. I did modify it a bit by adding a few dashes of liquid smoke and red pepper flakes. It was such a good recipe that I made it to give away at Christmas. I found that by quadrupling (by 4) that I was able to make about 2 jars (12-ounce) of sauce. It also makes a great dip for chips. Thanks for a great recipe. Definately has been added to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbon, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This is an awesome recipe... I only changed 2 things and that is that I used pure white vinegar and one tablespoon of prepared mustard instead of the mustard powder.My husband won't let me buy bbq sauce anymore...hahaha.....thanks for sharing Deb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This was exactly what I was looking for. A good base for a BBQ Sauce! This will be the base for all my BBQ sauces now. This time I added a little spices, herbs, Liquid Smoke, Honey and Jack Daniels.... Best BBQ sauce ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I used this sauce on ribs, and my husband said, "Don't buy anymore sauce! This is better than any we've ever bought!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Wow! This was awesome! I had some sausage links on hand that I didn't know how to use. Then I remembered that I had a sausage sandwich from Dickey's the other day and it was the best. So I made sausage sandwiches with this recipe and it was just as good, if not better. Love it, love it, love it, and I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow. Thanks! It was also incredibly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
This sauce is spectacular! My husband loves bar-b-que chicken, but I've never been able to make my own sauce. He loves this sauce, and I can't seem to make it often enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This recipe is the best I've ever tried! My kids are picky eaters and they loved this. (I left out the hot sauce for the kids batch.) I marinated some chicken in this recipe and it was wonderful on the grill. It stuck to the chicken and didn't drip all over the place. We loved it so much, I used it the same week to slow-cook a roast pork. I chopped the meat into chunks and added more sauce. Put it on hamburger buns, and got rave reviews from everyone who tried it. I made a little extra for those who wanted more on thier sandwich...they emptied the whole jar! Kudos to Debi for a great recipe worth sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Great Great Great. Literally made it 2 min ago and came to review. Added some liquid smoke, ed pepper flakes, and honey. Omitted the mustard (didnt have any). It tastes SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I love love love this recipe!!! I made it a few days ago when I made Barbecue Ribs from this site. The ribs recipe had it's own sauce but I didn't have everything for it and I didn't think the sauce would have fit my familys taste just from reading the ingredients, so I decided to look for a sauce recipe that would fit and I found this one. I'm so so so glad I found this recipe! I worked out great for the ribs, but after I tasted it I thought about how many other things I could use it with also. I think this Bar- B-Que sauce would be awesome with the mini hot dogs that you put in a slow cooker with bbq sauce mmmmmm.... I can't wait to try this recipe with all my ideas!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Just made this sauce today. I made is exactly as written and it tasted wonderful. I don't think anyone should be allowed to rate a recipe that they've altered. Make it as is first, then rate it, then adjust it as you wish. This is a really good, really easy basic BBQ sauce recipe, well worth the 5 stars for taste and ease of preparation. However, for myself and my family's tastes I added fresh finely chopped onions, minced garlic, liquid hickory smoke flavouring and some honey. Wow, to die for or what! This sauce just the way it's written is great, but it is also very forgiving so you can adjust it to your liking. Everyone is different and no two palates are the same so, If you like it really spicy, add some more hot sauce or red chile flakes or add more sugar or honey like I did and just keep tasting until you get it to your liking. Heck you could even add some minced pineapple for that matter! Once you get it where you like it, then let it sit for a few hours and see it surpass your expectations as when it sits, it gets even better. Oh, and I quadrupled the recipe to make sure I had plenty left over for another day since it will keep quite a while in the fridge. Hope this helps for some of you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States