Bar-B-Que Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I started using this recipe at the beginning of summer to make BBQ chicken. My family loved it. Than I made BBQ Pulled Pork (20 lbs for a golf outting) using it. It was delicious, all the pork was eaten and I got alot of great compliments. I have used this sauce on ribs, as a topping on meatloaf, a dip for chicken wings, cheese sticks and poppers. This sauce was very easy to make and it really taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is honestly the only BBQ sauce I have ever liked. I have made a few changes to make it my own. I add Hickory flavored liquid smoke and use white vinegar instead of apple cider vinegar. Also since I simply don't have mustard powder I use ready yellow mustard. I use it on EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Carlson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Found this searching for a bar-b-que sauce recipe on my phone at the grocery store after reading the labels of every bar-b-que sauce on the shelf and not finding a single one that did not have high fructose corn syrup! Even worse, that was the number one, main ingredient in all of them. I agree with poster "csjpmac" on this issue...like her (or him?) I bought all natural ketchup (Heinz has a good version) which does not have high fructose corn syrup, to use as my base. Doubled the recipe because I knew I'd need more, then substituted molasses for the brown sugar (which I thought I had at home). But I used half as much molasses as the amount of brown sugar called for. My family thought it was sweet enough and loved it (and my teenage son has a serious sweet tooth!). Also put in about 5 or 6 additional dashes of hot sauce and even a sprinkling of cayenne and it still wasn't spicy hot, to our taste. Baked boneless chicken breasts in it and got rave reviews! I do think I'll try adding liquid smoke next time as many have suggested and SLICKENUF's tip to add coffee sounds intriguing! Won't be buying bottled bar-b-que sauce again! Thanks for posting this Debi K :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is the BEST BBQ sauce we have tried yet! It works on everything. We have used it on grilled meatballs, Kielbasa, sausage, chicken, and a whole host of other grill foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Grant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I whipped this up because I ran out of bottled BBQ sauce. I simmered the sauce for 30 min and added 2 tbs water. This BBQ sauce is simple and tasty. I'd make this again because I always have the ingredients on hand. Bye-Bye bottled BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
We LOVED this! Made a double batch and should have made more but that's ok. It just took a couple of minutes to stir together. We WILL be making this often. Broiled some chicken breasts till nearly done then added the bbq sauce and baked a bit longer. Didn't change a thing except maybe one or two more dashes of the hot sauce. Thanks for the easy and very tasty recipe, Debi K!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This sauce was great! After it had cooked a bit, I tried some and then made a few addons. Instead of one dash of hot sauce, I went for four since we like it spicy. I then added a squirt of honey and it turned out perfectly spicy and sweet. Will make again for sure and might try regular vinegar instead as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sneezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paper_Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
very good. I followed other reviewers advice and added liquid smoke and some cayenne pepper. I did not care for the liquid smoke taste and I wish I didn't do that. I cannot wait to try it again without the liquid smoke. I would keep the cayenne though and maybe add some honey or extra brown sugar because I like my bbq a little sweet. Thank you for the easy good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I am not able to eat tomatoes so I sub banana or thai sweet sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norman D.  Wiedenman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States