Bar-B-Q Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This recipe has great flavor - the chili sauce really perks it up. Sadly, though, it was a bit too dry. I also enjoy the various beans, each having a different consistancy, even the lima beans were good (and I don't eat limas). Overall, it was a good change from the usual baked bean recipes. A great way to add legume nutrition to the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I use this recipe all the time when I want a quick side dish. To speed things up I put it in the microwave until nice and hot then put in the oven. Cuts the baking time in 1/2. I don't use as much chili sauce as it says and I still get a nice spicy baked bean dish. Last time I added some ham and a little liquid smoke. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I love this recipe. Not only is it quick & easy, but the chili sauce gives the beans a great taste. They are not to spicy nor are they too sweet. Just perfect. One thing I do differently, is I dice the bacon & fry it first, then mix it into the beans. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I have served this dish repeatedly at cattle events and have gotten rave reviews! These are what beans are meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I am personally not too fond of baked beans but I decided to make these anyway. They turned out okay for me but my husband and kids loved them. There weren't any left overs at all. Any time I make something with beans in it and the kids and hubby eat it all, it gets five stars from me. It was very simple to make and will definitely make again soon. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
At first, I was going to give it a 4 because I baked mine for less time than the recipe says, but it came out dry. I added liquid (water) and stirred it. The taste, however, is delicious and deserves a 5. I've made this kind of beans many times and have never thought to add chili sauce. Knowing to bake for less time than it says, though, is really a plus so I'm rating it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is now my standard and oft-requested bake bean recipe. I tend to play with it a bit. I rarely keep chili sauce in the house so I use ketchup and a spoonful of relish instead. I usually add some BBQ sauce if I have some, as well as some minced onion. The bacon is what makes it really great. I usually cook some ahead of time which I crumble and toss in. Oh and I always make this in the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' like Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Family really liked this dish. We are not a big fan of the traditional baked beans but this digh was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSHIPIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I thought these were good, but will probably be even better the next day. I didn't drain all of the beans and had no problems with them being dry. I didn't have much time, so I took the advice from a previous posting and microwaved the beans until warm and then put in the oven for a half hour. Also used Real Bacon Bits instead of bacon. All in all, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
These are a wonderful alternative to the usual baked beans. I use Thai chili sauce and cut it to six ounces. Mine are quit spicey and my guests love them. I also dice the bacon, but I don't fry it first as some do. Be sure to drain the beans completely, or they will be too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TopDog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States