Baptist Grasshopper Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was so minty and good. I made my own crust with mint oreos (about 2/3s of the package) and about 1/2 stick of butter which I baked at 325 for 7 minutes. I also substituted the chocolate extract with 3 ounces of chocolate chips. This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The reviewer below is absolutely correct--this pie is NOT alcohol free. I was making a grasshopper pie for a party and wanted to make a kid-friendly one also and used this recipe. Then I checked the bottles. My peppermint extract is 86% alcohol, while the creme de menthe is 30% (the standard grasshopper recipe uses 1/4 cup creme de menthe). If you do the math, you will see that the "Baptist" pie is actually only 35% less alcohol than regular pie (insert your own Baptist joke here). I used chopped chocolate instead of creme de cacao or chocolate extract because I didn't have either, so I'm not sure how much they contribute. Additionally in a side by side tasting everyone preferred the creme de menthe pie...the peppermint extract pie was described as "toothpasty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
pretty good. dont add as much mint and use cool whip lite instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I love this flavor combo, my husband does not but I wanted him to taste it, he took one bit and said it tasted awesome he then ate my peice and he went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Not bad at all, and will make again. Oh, there is alcohol in it - the two extracts are made with it, and they aren't cooked in this recipe which would cause the alcohol to burn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChileHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is a very good recipe. Just wanted to add that the alcohol content in extracts are higher than the liqueur you are replacing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I could't find chocolate extract so I used a little chocolate syrup. Cuts the Minty flavor. Also put in individual cracker crusts. Grandkids liked that idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This pie cuts into perfect wedges and is not messy at all. It also keeps well for several days in the fridge. Due to lack of ingredients on hand, I had to change the recipe up a bit. I baked a chocolate pie crust (just add 4 Tbsp of cocoa powder and 4 Tbsp of sugar to your back pocket pie crust recipe) as I didn't have the grahams. I could not find the mint or cocoa extract in the store, so I used peppermint extract and vanilla extract instead. After pouring the filling into the pie crust, I shaved milk chocolate over the top. My husband enjoyed the texture of this dessert. I thought it was a bit too minty, so next time I will use 1/2 Tbsp of the peppermint extract. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This was okay, I wasn't particularly impressed. BUT... mint extract is 89% alcohol, while creme de menthe is 15% alcohol, so I can't understand why they say this recope does not contain alcohol. ALL extracts (including vanilla) contain alcohol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good! I also made my own mint Oreo cookie crust. And I took the advice of some others and instead of chocolate extract, used two Hershey bars chopped in the food processor. I would recommend freezing them before chopping them, however so that you are pouring in flakes, and not trying to mix in a paste. It was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States