Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I've made this many times using the condensed milk. I got a tip from my Irish friend -- you can boil several cans of the milk and then put them back in the cupboard until you are ready to use them. One time I gave her back is to buy pre-made caramel in the can. It's called Dulce de Leche and can be found by the Mexican food at your grocery store. It's exactly the same (according to my friend from Ireland). You do have to soften the dulce de leche up a bit to make it spreadable - easy to do in the microwave (out of the can of course!). Just made it last night - great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Yummy!...Instead of boiling the can of condensed milk I pour 2 cans into a 9 X 13 dish and cover with tin foil, put that into a larger oven dish, fill it with water half way up the 9 X 13, then bake at 300 degrees for 1 and a half hours---makes a wonderful toffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Absolutely AWESOME!!! This is FANTASTIC!! I was worried that one can of condensed milk wouldn't be enough but it was spot-on. (By the way, PLEASE don't worry about the can exploding. I've done it dozens of times, and I've lived to tell the tale... I do, however, make sure that I am around to top up the water as it boils off. Also, be careful when you open the can - the second it is punctured, the boiling hot milk oozes out. I wrap the can and the can-opener in an old towel, thus protecting my hand). Thanks so much, Madeleine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
Definitely put the bananas under the caramel. Also on top of the whipped cream you can sprinkle finely grated chocolate, or instant coffee granules and cocoa. The first time I had it in England, it came with the coffee dusting, and that's the way I'll always remember it best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I had been searching for a recipe for Banoffee for a while. When I was in England in 2001, nearly every restaurant had some kind of dessert with this flavor, whether it be ice cream, pie, cake, etc. It's such a good combination and this recipe is no exception. You have to follow the recipe for the crust, because the ginger makes the crust. I took this to several gatherings of family and friends and it is always well received. It is different, but not so different that people won't try it. I was nervous about boiling the can too, but I've done it now at least 3 times with no explosions, so it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Very good pie. I made a few changes, though: I made a graham cracker crust (but I unfortunately forgot to put ginger in it), I boiled two 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk for about 2 3/4 hours. Let stand them for 10 minutes and poured them into a medium bowl, stirred with a fork to make a more spreadable consistency, and poured half of the "toffee" into the bottom of the crust. I garnished the toffeed pie with thinly sliced bananas (about 1/4 inch) dipped in lemon juice, and poured remaining toffee onto bananas. Not oversweet, as I feared it would be. As another reviewer suggested, I flipped cans at mid-boiling time. Very easy, but very good, and can easily be served for company. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Of the recipes I've found, this one came closest to the Banoffi I had at the Shack Restaurant in Dublin, Ireland. My friends agreed. Despite my friend Andy's fear, the can of condensed milk did NOT explode. But I was careful to keep enough water in the pot. I used 1/2 cup of butter as suggested by the last reviewer and this worked very well. I also used 3 bananas instead of 2 and added about 2 teaspoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the whipped cream. Next time I might try a deeper dish pie and add even MORE bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
okay first of all, I cut down on the butter quite a bit. Only used abt 1/2 cup that I melted in the pie plate in the oven. Then, I added the crumbs with the sugar and mixed it all in and pressed it gently to cover bottom. I omitted the ginger, as I don't like it much. I baked the crust in a 375 oven for a few minutes just to dry it a bit. Then, let it cool. As for the condensed milk, I used a 300ml can and the best and easiest way was to boil it in a big sauce pan filled with water, so I didn't have to watch it as closely. Only added a bit of water each 1 1\2 hours. Boiled it for 4 1/2 hours. I let it rest abt 30 mins. Didn't ooze out much cuz it had cooled. It was nice and firm and creamy and brown in color. I thought it may have been overcooked, but thank goodness, it tasted great! I also added a bit of sugar(1 tbsp) to the whipped cream, and shaved chocolate on top. Beautifu looking and my whole family loved it! They said it was really very delicious! Thanks for the recipe. Easy and delish. Worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Good but next time I will use a chocolate crust and serve with a chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
The pie tasted great. I made a few adjustments on the recipe, 1 cup of butter made the crust way to "soupy"...so i doubled the graham crackers and filled 2 9 inch pie pans istead (i had planned on making 2 pies anyway). This was the first I had made this recipe, and had heard about it from my boyfriend whos aunt makes it in England. I think the next time we make it we will boil the can for 3.5 hours and flipping the can half way through to cook the milk more evenly...as the top half was quite runny. Anyway..fabulous!! A must try! Its worth the 3 hours cooking the condensed milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States