Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
okay first of all, I cut down on the butter quite a bit. Only used abt 1/2 cup that I melted in the pie plate in the oven. Then, I added the crumbs with the sugar and mixed it all in and pressed it gently to cover bottom. I omitted the ginger, as I don't like it much. I baked the crust in a 375 oven for a few minutes just to dry it a bit. Then, let it cool. As for the condensed milk, I used a 300ml can and the best and easiest way was to boil it in a big sauce pan filled with water, so I didn't have to watch it as closely. Only added a bit of water each 1 1\2 hours. Boiled it for 4 1/2 hours. I let it rest abt 30 mins. Didn't ooze out much cuz it had cooled. It was nice and firm and creamy and brown in color. I thought it may have been overcooked, but thank goodness, it tasted great! I also added a bit of sugar(1 tbsp) to the whipped cream, and shaved chocolate on top. Beautifu looking and my whole family loved it! They said it was really very delicious! Thanks for the recipe. Easy and delish. Worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I've made this many times using the condensed milk. I got a tip from my Irish friend -- you can boil several cans of the milk and then put them back in the cupboard until you are ready to use them. One time I gave her back is to buy pre-made caramel in the can. It's called Dulce de Leche and can be found by the Mexican food at your grocery store. It's exactly the same (according to my friend from Ireland). You do have to soften the dulce de leche up a bit to make it spreadable - easy to do in the microwave (out of the can of course!). Just made it last night - great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Too runny, I really had to encourage folks to try it. But those that did loved it. Still, I wish it looked better. The next time I cooked the condensed milk even longer, it comes out less runny. This is my variation: I made a crust with crushed regular salty pretzels, and less butter. Cooked milk alot longer and I sprinkled crushed chocolate covered pretzels on top of the cream. the salt and sweet were awsome together, don't knock it 'till you try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was so simple and the end result was so good! I'm not a big sweets eater, so it was a bit rich for me (a little piece goes a long way), but still good, and my family loved it! My picky 10 year old daughter proclaimed it the best pie she's ever eaten! She even ate it first at Thanksgiving so she could make sure she got a piece! We used a pre-made pie crust, and whiped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
made this yesterday and it turned out great! i only used one teaspoon of the ginger, but other than that did what the recipe called for. will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Thought this was fun to make and tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This recipe is the best one I have found. I did change the crust, I only used room temperture butter and baked the crust for 5 minutes on 350*. The condensed milk makes the pie sweet enough for my family...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Qulin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef_niki
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was a very tasty recipe, but after over 3 hours of boiling the condensed milk it was still a bit runny, and i had to put the finished pie into the freezer for a while to be able to cut it without it pouring all over the place. Tasty but not very visual appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was sooo easy. I used an already made graham cracker pie shell and I used two cans of condensed milk. The longer you cook the milk the better. I also always use a plastic knife to cut the bananas - supposedly this lessens the browning of the banana slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I had been searching for a recipe for Banoffee for a while. When I was in England in 2001, nearly every restaurant had some kind of dessert with this flavor, whether it be ice cream, pie, cake, etc. It's such a good combination and this recipe is no exception. You have to follow the recipe for the crust, because the ginger makes the crust. I took this to several gatherings of family and friends and it is always well received. It is different, but not so different that people won't try it. I was nervous about boiling the can too, but I've done it now at least 3 times with no explosions, so it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States