Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I truly had doubts about this and I was really just making it because I thought it was interesting to boil the can of condensed milk...but oh my! This is amazing! Kind of like a carmel banana cream pie but oh so much better! This may be on my top 10 favorite desserts list! I highly recommend trying this - it's fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
1st place winner at our county fair. Easy to make. 2nd time I made it, I used the crumbs of leftover scones in place of the graham crackers and it worked great. I also used 1/2 the whipped cream topping, to cut the calories. Besides it already impressed the judges. I agree on using the 3 tsp. ginger, it seems to balance the flavors. QUESTION for you that have tried it, has anyone incorporated chocolate somehow?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This pie is absolutely delicious and I prefer making it myself, rather than buying it in the shop. I only boiled my tin of milk for two and a half hours, though, and it was a bit runny after slicing the pie. Next time I will definitely boil for at least 3 hours, but I think it wouldn't hurt at all to boil for 3 and a half, or even 4. I've read some recipes where it calls for 4 to 6 (!!) hours of boiling -- so next time I'm definitely going to go beyond 3 hours to avoid runny toffee! Otherwise this recipe was spot on, though I did use Digestives for the crust and omitted the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Absolutely delicious!! Just boiling the sweetened condensed milk was dessert in itself! If you are looking for something to turn heads this one is for you! If you don't have ginger I think it would be great with a gingersnap crust or just as delicious with plain graham cracker crust. Awesome thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crcl72

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I first tried this pie in England and I wanted to see if I could recreate it for my English boyfriend. I used crushed gingernuts for the crust and omitted the sugar and extra ginger. I also used three bananas instead of two. I was really worried about the milk exploding because the top was bulging out a bit. But no problems, and I think next time I will take another reviewer's advice and make a couple of cans at a time. All in all a delicious pie that looked fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I love Banoffee pie! I have never added ginger before. The recipes I have used add a little instant coffee to the whipped cream. A hint- If you have a deep enough crock pot you can simmer the cans on medium heat for 5 hours and the water doesn't cook down as quickly- you still have to watch it though. I usually only have to top it off once during the time, and it's a lot less scary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
While living in Northern Ireland, I would eat this like there was no tomorrow whenever my mother-in-law would make it. Since my in-laws are in town visiting, I wanted to try this out and see how it was received. I slacked a bit on the condensed milk - I substituted (as others have done) the milk with Dulce de Leche, which is easy to find in any store in Texas where I now live. My only complaint about my dish was that the bananas in the store were not as ripe as they should have been for this dish. I topped it with whipped cream and finely chopped pecans. My mother-in-law seemed to really love it, which made me very happy. I am glad I came across this recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Used Ginger Snap biscuits as the crackers in orginal receipe not avaliable, I found the ginger a bit overpowering but my guests loved it. Used 2 cans of Condensed Milk and boiled for 3 1/2 hours (and left in saucepan with lid on - heat off - overnight) toffee was nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is an all time favourite. The combination is divine, I love it! Works with skim condensed milk too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Banoffee is worth the ridiculous 51 grams of fat that it has per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States