Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Oh, so tasty. I was a little concerned with the timing on the toffee--recipes across the web range the boiling time from three to six hours. I settled on four and a half, which gave me a nicely firm toffee (I stirred it with a spoon for a minute before adding it to the pie shell to make it more spreadable--it was very thick). I liked that it wasn't too sweet, and the combination of flavors was excellent. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was very good, but I cheated a lot. I used a pre-made crust and cool whip topping. I would have used prepared dulce de leche if I could have found it, but instead I boiled the condensed milk for not quite 3 hours. Next time I will boil the milk for 3 hours or more, but will keep the other cheats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
awesome banoffee! made 2 yesterday following recipe exactly. they were so popular had to make 2 more today. but I felt a bit lazy today and used store bought graham cracker crust, which I sprinkled with a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground ginger and also tried the pre-made dulce de leche instead of boiling the cans for 3 hours...both ways were equally delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KungFuJimmyChoo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Very tasty, My mother always boiled condensed milk in a can but for about 5 hours then when cool would open both ends and push it out we would slice it or just grab a spoon, it was a firm soft caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Photo by RAMSICAL
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
a bit too sweet for my liking, but otherwise very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
It was sweet but very, very tasty. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I didn't care for this very much. I did just use the dulce de leche in the can in the spanish section of the grocery, as another poster said was the same thing without all of the work of boiling the can. I guess the taste was just something to new for me. I felt it was just way too sweet. I think dulce de leche could be good in a dessert in a much smaller quantity or as a flavoring in a dessert or drink, like coffee, since it is so rich and sweet. My favorite part was the whipped cream and bananas. But, I think the point of the dessert was the addition of the thick dulce de leche bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was really good but would be much better with cool whip or some other whipped topping. "Real" whipped cream is somewhat tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made this to try something different. It was awesome! It tastes like banana pudding and ginger snap cookies had an offspring!!!! YUMMY !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonfly22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemblesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I used a store bought crust, used 2 cans of the condensed mile after carmelizing, added a layer of crushed Skor bars/Heath bars and then added the sliced bananas and whipped cream. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States