Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good Irsish dessert. I make it for Easter and the family asks for it until the next Easter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWeber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I learned about this recipe while in England and had to try it once I learned that all you had to do was be brave enough to boil a can of condensed milk. I to started out with over 3 hrs of boiling but I've experimented by having a large kettle with up to 5 cans boiling and sacraficing a can at 1.5 hrs and the toffee was just fine. I also like to add sugar and vanilla to the whip cream. Also I will try nutmeg the next time I make the crust as some people aren't fans of the ginger. In the end the best part is describing to people how you boil the condensed milk, they're all afraid that it will explode. Now I can point out that I'm not the only crazy cook doing this. Hey maybe the Myth Busters on the Discovery channel need to experiment with trying to make a can of condensed milk explode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Love it!! I was scared of the cans exploding, but after reading how many people do this successfully, I went ahead and gave it a shot. The toffee turns out so rich and thick! I was really surprised at how easy it was to turn out such beautiful caramel. Only change for me: I'm redubbing this pie "Caranana" pie for my friends and family. Here in the US South, we think of Toffee as that crunchy candy with nuts covered in chocolate. Caranana will work better here. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkayemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is such an easy way of making Banoffee pie which is my favourite! I added a layer of bananas on the bottom as well and put it in the fridge as soon as the toffee on top overnight before adding another layer and the cream. I have also seen chocolate sauce or ice-cream sauce put on the base to add some extra chocolate flavor. Thanks so much for this receipe...certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford-Upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My husband is from the UK and grew up on banoffee pie. His feedback was that the crust made it too sweet and he preferred a standard crust. Also, he believes that instant coffee should be mixed into the cream, although I thought that cocoa sprinkled on top got the job done. As a final comment, this is better with a thicker sliced banana to help balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very tasty. But the whipped cream needs a little sugar and pie needs more bananas! With these additions this banoffee is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I make this in a cheescake pan. It is beautiful when finished and taken out of the pan. The trick is to allow the milk to boil long enough for a thick enough caramel to hold together. I will make this time and time again. It is ALWAYS a show stopper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My husband loves this! I originally made this recipe from the Paula Dean show. This is the same though. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
The whipped cream was way too much- around 1 cup would have been enough. Overall, too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I'm not sure what to really say about this pie! It's so very sweet yet the whipped cream has no flavor to it and it gave me a tummy ache after I had a slice. If you like VERY sweet desserts then this is a great pie but I suggest using ready made whipped topping. I also used a ready made graham cracker crust to save time. The best part of this recipe is the science of how the milk turns into a yummy caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States