Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I spent time in England a couple years ago but the first time I had banoffee was in the British West Indies and I fell in love with this dessert. Since I got home I have been searching for a recipe so i could enjoy it stateside, and this one is delicious and easy! I have also tried it with an oreo crust in place of graham cracker. There is no bad way to make it or eat it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfmenchi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good Irsish dessert. I make it for Easter and the family asks for it until the next Easter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWeber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I learned about this recipe while in England and had to try it once I learned that all you had to do was be brave enough to boil a can of condensed milk. I to started out with over 3 hrs of boiling but I've experimented by having a large kettle with up to 5 cans boiling and sacraficing a can at 1.5 hrs and the toffee was just fine. I also like to add sugar and vanilla to the whip cream. Also I will try nutmeg the next time I make the crust as some people aren't fans of the ginger. In the end the best part is describing to people how you boil the condensed milk, they're all afraid that it will explode. Now I can point out that I'm not the only crazy cook doing this. Hey maybe the Myth Busters on the Discovery channel need to experiment with trying to make a can of condensed milk explode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Love it!! I was scared of the cans exploding, but after reading how many people do this successfully, I went ahead and gave it a shot. The toffee turns out so rich and thick! I was really surprised at how easy it was to turn out such beautiful caramel. Only change for me: I'm redubbing this pie "Caranana" pie for my friends and family. Here in the US South, we think of Toffee as that crunchy candy with nuts covered in chocolate. Caranana will work better here. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkayemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is such an easy way of making Banoffee pie which is my favourite! I added a layer of bananas on the bottom as well and put it in the fridge as soon as the toffee on top overnight before adding another layer and the cream. I have also seen chocolate sauce or ice-cream sauce put on the base to add some extra chocolate flavor. Thanks so much for this receipe...certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford-Upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My husband is from the UK and grew up on banoffee pie. His feedback was that the crust made it too sweet and he preferred a standard crust. Also, he believes that instant coffee should be mixed into the cream, although I thought that cocoa sprinkled on top got the job done. As a final comment, this is better with a thicker sliced banana to help balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very tasty. But the whipped cream needs a little sugar and pie needs more bananas! With these additions this banoffee is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I make this in a cheescake pan. It is beautiful when finished and taken out of the pan. The trick is to allow the milk to boil long enough for a thick enough caramel to hold together. I will make this time and time again. It is ALWAYS a show stopper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My husband loves this! I originally made this recipe from the Paula Dean show. This is the same though. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
The whipped cream was way too much- around 1 cup would have been enough. Overall, too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States