Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this recipe once as is and it was good. I made it again with a couple of tweaks and it was outstanding! First, I used three bananas instead of two, second while the sweetened condensed milk thing is cool, it is far easier (and taste exactly the same) to just buy a can of dulce de leche. You can get it in the latin section of the grocery store (at least in Texas you can). Third, to cut the sweetness a little I made a coffee flavored whipped cream by dissolving 1/2 a teaspoon of instant coffee in the cream. Just let it sit a couple of minutes and it will dissolve, then add 1 teaspoon of sugar and whipped the cream per the directions. I also put the bananas in first and made it in a cheesecake pan for a pretty presentation. In short, the recipe as is is pretty good, but the changes I made took it to the next level. I can't take credit for the changes though, I used the original Hungry Monk (where banoffee pie originated) recipe as guidance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
too much butter in the crust. Try to buy caramel leche premade. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I think the layer of bananas could be thicker, and it's a little rich but it's quite an experience. Though I was really impressed at first, over the week I have noticed it's not something I will make again. It's just too much for us, only half of us are eating it and slowly at that. Thanks for showing me something different though! Boiling condensed milk is just not my area. I would probably appreciate it more if I were familiar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Photo by sweet tooth
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
my sweetheart and I made this recipe for the first time and OMG! it turned out to be super delicious. We loved it!!! He sprinkled dark chocolate shavings on top of the cream and it looked irresistible.we used 8 oz cool whip instead of thick whipping cream and it was yummy. we took ebabysmom advice to use Dulce de Leche, it saved alot of time and made it an instant dessert. Dont think twice about adding the ginger to the crust, definitely gives a spin to the flavor. we thought 2 large bananas would be enough but atleast there should be 4 layers of banana to make it a BANoffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Loved it, found it a little sweet the first time so I made my own whipped cream without sugar the second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Next time i will use the condensed milk without crystallizing it. I'll see how it will taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
what did i do wrong? came out watery............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I was skeptical about the boiling of the condensed milk. I thought that I would walk by the stove and, any minute, shards of metal would be embedding themselves in my forehead. I was wrong. I boiled it for 3 hours and toffee was born! The only thing I cheated on was using a store bought graham pie crust (all I had). It seemed the ginger was critical to this recipe, so I sprinkled some ground ginger on the inside of the crust. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly. This was heavenly and so easy! I served this yesterday as my dessert for Easter dinner. Even my father, Mr. Fussy Sweet Tooth, raved about it. I'll be making this again for our Royal Wedding food day at work this week. I must say, jolly good!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Got a lot of compliments on this one and loved it myself too!! Boiling the milk in the can is pure genius and worked perfectly! I just brought the water to a boil and then turned down to simmer for the rest of the time. The crust should use only 1/2 to 1/3 cup of butter. I also put the bananas under the toffee to reduce mess and halved the cream as well and garnished with Skor bits on top (available at your local Bulk Barn or you can crush up your own candy bar!). Got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I spent time in England a couple years ago but the first time I had banoffee was in the British West Indies and I fell in love with this dessert. Since I got home I have been searching for a recipe so i could enjoy it stateside, and this one is delicious and easy! I have also tried it with an oreo crust in place of graham cracker. There is no bad way to make it or eat it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfmenchi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States