Banoffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I made this recipe for a dinner party this past weekend and got RAVE reviews! Everyone loved this pie. I made a couple changes per other reviewers suggestions. I used two cans of sweetened condensed milk and four bananas. The combination of the graham cracker crust and the sweetness of the cooked condensed milk was amazing! Thank you for this great recipe. I'll be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Very good pie. I made a few changes, though: I made a graham cracker crust (but I unfortunately forgot to put ginger in it), I boiled two 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk for about 2 3/4 hours. Let stand them for 10 minutes and poured them into a medium bowl, stirred with a fork to make a more spreadable consistency, and poured half of the "toffee" into the bottom of the crust. I garnished the toffeed pie with thinly sliced bananas (about 1/4 inch) dipped in lemon juice, and poured remaining toffee onto bananas. Not oversweet, as I feared it would be. As another reviewer suggested, I flipped cans at mid-boiling time. Very easy, but very good, and can easily be served for company. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I have tried Banoffee twice now. The 2nd time I changed the recipe by adding 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk and only 1 tea. of ginger. Three teaspoons of ginger was overpowering. I could not taste the toffee. I, like others, used only 1/2 cup of butter also. My wife does not make desserts; but, she and the rest of the family did'nt leave a crumb. She was even bragging about my culinary art to a friend the next day. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Good but next time I will use a chocolate crust and serve with a chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Of the recipes I've found, this one came closest to the Banoffi I had at the Shack Restaurant in Dublin, Ireland. My friends agreed. Despite my friend Andy's fear, the can of condensed milk did NOT explode. But I was careful to keep enough water in the pot. I used 1/2 cup of butter as suggested by the last reviewer and this worked very well. I also used 3 bananas instead of 2 and added about 2 teaspoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the whipped cream. Next time I might try a deeper dish pie and add even MORE bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
First, ONLY 1/2 CUP BUTTER IS NEEDED. I think it might be a misprint. I make my own crumb crusts all the time and went against my instincts by following this recipe, only to find myself blotting butter off the surface of my crust. A few modifications- I coated the banana slices in melted high quality 70% dark chocolate, placed them on the crust, let it chill in the fridge and then poured the warm toffee over when it was finished simmering. Wonderful in my opinion, but my tasters gave mixed review. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
Definitely put the bananas under the caramel. Also on top of the whipped cream you can sprinkle finely grated chocolate, or instant coffee granules and cocoa. The first time I had it in England, it came with the coffee dusting, and that's the way I'll always remember it best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This pie was a lot of fun to make, but it didn't hold up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUFF GIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Archbold, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I must admit that I used Cool Whip for the topping instead of real whipping cream and it still tasted great (it was the fourth pie I made for Christmas so I needed to hurry things up a bit). I also used two cans of sweetened condensed milk instead of one. If you do this, use three of four bananas instead of two. The bananas add a fabulous flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This recipe was DELICIOUS!!!! I would make it a thousand times!! I did modify it a bit though. Instead of 2 cups of heavy whipping cream, I just used one and that was plenty! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe so we could all enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States