Banny's Southern Cream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I used all butter in place of shortening. These really are the most soft and pillow-y cookies ever. I think they'd be good with some spices in the dough, in addition to the cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is one of my favorite cookies of all time! It is not too sweet - a perfect coffee/tea cookie. The only thing I do differently from the recipe is substitute pecans for the black walnuts, but that's just because I prefer pecans. This is also an extremely versatile cookie dough - experiment with different nuts, currants, dates, chocolate, whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These are a little to bland as is so I added chocolate chips and skipped the cinnamon-sugar step (although I'm sure that would be good too). They were THE BEST chocolate chip cookies I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My family loves these cookies! I make them when the weather gets cool and they are usually eaten within a few days. I use pecans or walnuts. But pine nuts will be the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I used butter and they turned out almost like a mini-scone. Really yummy, and not too too sweet. I made a quick icing from confectioners sugar and fresh lemon juice and drizzled it over them for a little "kick." I think I may add dried fruit to the next batch I cook up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DENISEELAINE
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These were very moist but seemed a little bland to me. In the right setting, however, with coffee it might be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I like how this cookie stayed so soft, puffy, and moist. The dough is super versatile. I left out the walnuts and made small rounded teaspoon sized cookies with cinnamon on top as snickerdoodles, and then also baked a batch of larger rounded-Tablespoon sized cookies, which made amazing big,thick, fluffy, soft sugar cookies just perfect for icing. The kids loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Tastes a lot like snickerdoodles, with a twist. I, too, rolled them in the sugar/cinnamon mix. Very tasty, with a nice texture. (sour cream taste not apparent)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Easy to make very moist. Found it easier to roll balls in sugar with cinnamon than to use a small glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States