Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
There is many different ways for bannock. I like to add some sugar to mine. This is pretty good :) Of coarse people are going to alter how things are made as the years go by (to the comments about how they used butter) its really not a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie Nicole Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chahala Fletcher
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great!!! Rolled it in sugar and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chahala Fletcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
awesome bannock! and so simple! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tyler Paton
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I use 1-1/2 cup flour, 3/4 cup water, regular soup spoon baking powder, heaping table spoon coarse salt. I knead it all together and the last bits sticky so I dust with flour and knead until its good. tear into 6 pieces squish down to just under 3/4" and fry on medium high heat in canola and olive oil. sprinkle paprika on after you flip the first time, fry the other side and sprinkle with paprika. perfectly soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Paton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Tried this recipe, absolute keeper! Made no changes, except I scaled the recipe down to make 1/4 of original and took it off my pan about 4 minutes early because it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Field

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Gluten Free here! I reduced the recipe to make enough for a midnight snack for one using 1/4-1/3 cup spelt flour and ~ 1tsp of potato starch, 1 tbs melted ghee (clarified butter, 1.5-2 tsp of baking powder. I combined and kneaded as called for then, like some of the reviewers I split the dough to make mini-bannocks cooking in a pan with hot coconut oil over medium heat. They came out perfect in just a few minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Awesome loved it. Also like making variations of it by adding garlic powder or paste. Or making it into a dessert by dusting it with a cinnamon sugar mix after its fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is pretty good. You can't expect a whole lot from bannock because it is so basic. The dough was a bit wet, but I added about a 1/4 a cup of flour and that made it a bit better. It's too plain by itself. I recommend bushing it with a tiny bit of water, (with a pastry brush if you've got one) and then rolling, or stuffing it with cinnamon sugar. That makes it taste like a carnival mini doughnut! You could also spread some butter or honey on it, that tastes quite good. If you have the time I would say, just make regular bread. It's defiantly worth it. I found it a fun way to learn about the Aboriginal Peoples but I wouldn't make this on a regular basis. Enjoy! - Chef Marissa R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
A decent recipe. I made this on two different occasions - once baked in the oven and once fried in a pan. I liked the pan fried much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I used 1 cup wholewheat flour(Golden temple brand) and 2 cups white flour as we are diabetic. Otherwise followed the recipe. My husband says 4.5/5 for this recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States