Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is pretty good. You can't expect a whole lot from bannock because it is so basic. The dough was a bit wet, but I added about a 1/4 a cup of flour and that made it a bit better. It's too plain by itself. I recommend bushing it with a tiny bit of water, (with a pastry brush if you've got one) and then rolling, or stuffing it with cinnamon sugar. That makes it taste like a carnival mini doughnut! You could also spread some butter or honey on it, that tastes quite good. If you have the time I would say, just make regular bread. It's defiantly worth it. I found it a fun way to learn about the Aboriginal Peoples but I wouldn't make this on a regular basis. Enjoy! - Chef Marissa R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
A decent recipe. I made this on two different occasions - once baked in the oven and once fried in a pan. I liked the pan fried much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I used 1 cup wholewheat flour(Golden temple brand) and 2 cups white flour as we are diabetic. Otherwise followed the recipe. My husband says 4.5/5 for this recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious! Try it with some melted butter and cinnamon and sugar it's just like Canadian beaver tails!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Make your bannock dough into a long rope like shape. Roast a wiener on the camp fire, wrap the bannock around the wiener and heat over the fire once again to cook bannock. Kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Put some sugar in this recipe it would make it a lot better and use lard on stead of butter and milk instead of water and mix in a egg to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishcree

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
easiest fresh bread ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Add about 2 tablespoons of sugar, and it becomes a tasty sweetbread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Perfect bachelor recipe for quick, hot bread! I use coconut oil and bake for exactly 30 minutes. I add a large cut up Mackintosh apple to the mix. The bannock is still nice and moist the next day. It does make a heavy bread but that is what I like. Reheat a piece in the microwave with butter in the morn, add fresh strawberry jam and you have a quick, stick to your ribs breaky. Thankyou for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I used 1 Tablespoon of Baking Powder, and whole wheat flour. I melted 1/4 cup of butter in my iron skillet in the oven, then poured it into the dry ingredients. I agree with others that 1 1/2 cups of water is too much. I added about 1 1/4 cup water and the dough was pretty sticky. I kneaded in maybe two more tablespoons of flour. It was easy to shape into a round flat loaf about 1 inch high and it fit perfectly into my big iron skillet. I baked it in the over as suggested for 30 minutes at 350. This turned out very tasty. With the 1 T of baking powder it rose nicely. I am Ojibwe and grew up eating this at my Grandma's, but she called it Goulette. I am happy to have finally found the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ikwewe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States