Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I found it easier to separate the dough into 6 parts, shaped the same as the loaf, and bake in the oven. You get buns! Was very good overall, a good addition to a dinner meal instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Easy to do and very good, but I find that it tastes a little doughy. Not what I remembered about camping when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I really liked this. It is very quick and easy. I used olive oil instead of butter, then added parmesan cheese and rosemary. Also, I shaped the dough into quarters then cooked in the skillet. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I love to take this camping. I mix up the dry ingredients at home and mix in the butter just before cooking. Tastes the best cooked in/over a fire (either wrapped around a 2cm diameter stick, or wrapped in foil and thrown into the embers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonsay, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
We love to make this when camping. We premix dry ingredients before leaving,then just melt butter and add water at camp. Very easy and it's great to have fresh baked goods out in the woods!My kids love it with jam for a camp breakfast or a campfire snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
this is a good basic recipe. Sometimes i roll it out thinner and fill it with smoked salmon or other meats. I got this idea while up in the okanagan with my grandmother. There is a little shop up there that sells freshly made stuffed bannok. I have been looking for a god recipe for bannok ever since. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was pretty good for what it was, a very simple recipe. I don't think I'd ever even made a bread from scratch before. It does bake up kind of thick, so I can see why a couple of the prior reviewers made it thinner. I think it would be good with butter or honey, but I didn't try either. I didn't even bother reheating the bannock, and just snacked on chunks of it for days. The Woman I Love had a taste of it, and liked it so much that I had to make a batch for her. She told me she enjoyed it a lot, especially reheated and with butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Best bannock I have made. fluffy and tastey. i made small patties instead of one large one. The kids loved it! Its deliocus when right out of the pan, with jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I followed this recipe to a tee however,I did not care for it at all batter was much to sticy and it was like eating fried dough. I gave it a 1 because my daughter liked them otherwise I would of given it a complete thumbs down. I would never try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deniece

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Hello Tried this along with a few others the only problem was how sticky the dough was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States