Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My mother's favorite bread. I added cinnamon, sugar, and 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I have been trying for years to make Bannock like Kookum did, but mine come out like hockey pucks!! I will try your recipe... some say not to knead it alot, but i'm pretty sure i remember her kneading it lots Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Mmmmm, I have tried making bannock in the past without much success but this recipe is great! The dough was VERY sticky, but I figured since I followed the directions, it was supposed to be like that. I baked it in the oven in a 9x9 pan. Got nice and puffy and turned out perfect! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I've made a number of bannock recipes before but this one beats them all! Dense yet fluffy and moist, SO good. Added raisins, which just amplify the goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Add the water only until dough is the right consistency, otherwise it may turn out to be too wet. I ended up adding only about a cup of water to mine. I also used olive oil and sprinkled in some herbs. Instead of pan-frying, I used the oven - patted it out half inch thick, used a cookie cutter, and lined the pan with parchment paper. The bannock turned out to be so light and fluffy that it fooled people into thinking they were buttermilk biscuits! I will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very yummy!!! i added some sugar to, too make it sweetier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayteaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I live in the northern Canada, and a local baker told me the secret to great bannock is to not over work mix the dough. Don't worry if you still have dry bits that are not mixed in. This will give you a lighter bannock, not a rock hard one. To step things up a notch, I put blueberry pie filling on top before I put in in the oven. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe! Puffed up really nice, husband ate almost all of them at one sitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I split this into 6 pieces, kneeded them quite thin, covered the top in brown & white sugar & cinnamon then baked them in the oven @ 350 for approx 25 minutes. I let them cool, then served them warm with vanilla ice-cream. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I thought this tasted like homemade playdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyTiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States