Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is the first time I have had bannock turn out well. It's even approved by my Cree partner...not as good as his mom's but it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I love this recipe! A fun way to play with it was to wrap the bannock dough around previously boiled hot dogs and fry in a pan with oil. Kids love this easy "pigs in a blanket" that they can dip in ketchup or mustard- or cut up and eat like "sushi" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
this recipe just doesn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
if you want an easier way to make bannock just follow this recipe. - 3 cups flour - dash salt - 1 tsp baking powder - 2 tbsp lard or Crisco (canola or corn oil can be used as a substitute) - water mix all ingredients other than the water together. when it is mixed well pour water in slowly avoiding to put too much. it will be nice and sticky when there is enough water. roll up into balls about the size of a golf ball. place them on frying pan at 350F. keep on turning adding butter to make it tastier. push the ball down as flat as you can making it into sort of a pancake. it will be golden brown in most places when ready. it taste good with jam or brown suger. enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Got the idea to make this from one of the "Sword of Truth" books. Excellent recipe. I ended up making it into a pizza crust and it was better for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PenelopeElisa
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I used to eat this as a kid when I lived in Canada with lots of Native Americans, but instead I used 1/2 of milk and 1 cup of water ... I made a plate of these and my Dad ate 6!!! hahaha They taste amazing with some Smoked Salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PenelopeElisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was really easy to make and a really nice texture, I found that it didn't rise as much as I would have liked and I could taste the baking powder a bit more than I would have liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My mother's favorite bread. I added cinnamon, sugar, and 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I have been trying for years to make Bannock like Kookum did, but mine come out like hockey pucks!! I will try your recipe... some say not to knead it alot, but i'm pretty sure i remember her kneading it lots Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Mmmmm, I have tried making bannock in the past without much success but this recipe is great! The dough was VERY sticky, but I figured since I followed the directions, it was supposed to be like that. I baked it in the oven in a 9x9 pan. Got nice and puffy and turned out perfect! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States