Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I added honey, cinnamon and raisins and divided the dough into 8 pieces. The dough doesn't really 'knead' per say, you are essentially incorporating a little more flour into it, which is fine. Baked on oiled cookie sheet in oven at 350 for 20 min. The first batch was crusty on the outside and I oiled the tops right away to soften. The second batch was much better because the dough was allowed to 'rest' for 20 min. and I brushed walnut oil on the tops prior to baking them. The result was they were fluffier and you couldn't taste the baking powder as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Sheila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
found these a little bitter, maybe less baking powder or a little sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I'm very new to cooking/baking and found this to be very easy. I now add raisins and vanilla to add taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe can also be used to fry the bannock in veggie oil, and cutting a small hole in the center of the patties will let them cook completely through and also makes them rise higher as well.... fry the bannock in small batches as it keeps an even temp on the oil and less chances of becoming greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This recipe is just like what my Nana made all through my growing up years, so simple but so good! Tonight I made it using 100% whole wheat flour and canola oil for a healthier twist on this family tradition, it is delicious! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is the first time I have had bannock turn out well. It's even approved by my Cree partner...not as good as his mom's but it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I love this recipe! A fun way to play with it was to wrap the bannock dough around previously boiled hot dogs and fry in a pan with oil. Kids love this easy "pigs in a blanket" that they can dip in ketchup or mustard- or cut up and eat like "sushi" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
this recipe just doesn't work for me. made it twice once baked, horribly dry and once fried again dry and the dough was really stiff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
if you want an easier way to make bannock just follow this recipe. - 3 cups flour - dash salt - 1 tsp baking powder - 2 tbsp lard or Crisco (canola or corn oil can be used as a substitute) - water mix all ingredients other than the water together. when it is mixed well pour water in slowly avoiding to put too much. it will be nice and sticky when there is enough water. roll up into balls about the size of a golf ball. place them on frying pan at 350F. keep on turning adding butter to make it tastier. push the ball down as flat as you can making it into sort of a pancake. it will be golden brown in most places when ready. it taste good with jam or brown suger. enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Got the idea to make this from one of the "Sword of Truth" books. Excellent recipe. I ended up making it into a pizza crust and it was better for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States