Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Good recipe although I don't use the butter. We have this often. Sometimes we add a little sugar and fresh berries or stuff it with fried ground beef and gravy and fry them in the pan. You can add Italian seasoning, garlic, rosemary and so much more. Also the kids like it when we roll it in sugar and cinnamon and eat them warm. We also always take it camping and make up as much as we need to go with dinner or lunch. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I love bannock. This recipe is almost identical to the one I make except I use vegetable oil. To anyone who comments on the "traditional" nature of bannock and it shouldn't have butter doesn't understand that we (including myself, a Cree Indian) did not have butter but we also did not have FLOUR. This is a fairly recent invention that we came up with based on rations given to us by government officials. Go ahead and use butter. It's not offensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Oh yeah! This bread was wonderful. I shaped them into little patty-like balls and fried them on stove. The dough was soft, but I rolled the balls into some flour before putting them in the oil. I substituted 1/3 whole wheat flour and used canola oil instead of butter. After I put them in the oil, I poked my finger in the middle, to help them cook all the way through, which they did. They were fluffy, tender and moist. I did not detect an off-taste from the baking powder. They would be great with raisins, as someone mentioned, honey, jam or dipped in chili, spaghetti sauce or Manwich - and lots more! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
My first try at making bannock and it turned out really great, shared some with a couple of my native friends and they said it was the best bannock they have ever eaten. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elmer G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lac La Biche, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This version was too dough-tasting when baked so I made my own oven-baked version of this recipe! I added a bit of sugar for taste but the bannock still has a nice savoury flavour to it. I would also recommend adding in your water bit by bit incase your mixture ends up too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Bannock is delicious! Seems like everybody has their own family recipe, and I have been lucky enough to try many of them. This was my first attempt at making my own. I formed the dough into smaller patties and cooked them in a deep skillet with lots of oil. They came out great, and are only made better served with blackberry jam :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Excellent recipe!! I made 12 smaller loaves, and on the last 4, tried something new. I patted the dough, brushed a tiny bit of melted butter, sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on. Then I folded dough over and patted down to half inch. Very nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Really really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
According to my sister-in-law, who is a member of the Dene-tha nation of northern Alberta, aboriginals people, she says Banic should be made with lard or vegetable shortening. This is because when the first nations people were first in existance they did not have butter. Therefore, they could not use butter. They only had in their food stores, shortening, flour, baking powder, and salt. Water was near by so this is what went into their main staple of food. They ate banic at every meal, and sometimes this is all they ate for a meal. This was depending on how good the hunting was. Milk was never used because this turns the dough white. Usually it was cooked over an open fire or baked in the oven. The oven should be turned up to a high temperature. In my house we do not time it we just go by the smell and the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
As a 40+ year camper, we have found that if you want to have fun. Find/cut Y shaped branches, hand mold a patty around the Y and let the kids cook thier own bannock over an open camp fire. Make sure that you use a clean camp fire i.e. don't cook over burning carbage such as wrappers, cans, cardboard or cigarette butts... The familly will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guy Giroux
Home Town: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States