Bannock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Add about 2 tablespoons of sugar, and it becomes a tasty sweetbread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Perfect bachelor recipe for quick, hot bread! I use coconut oil and bake for exactly 30 minutes. I add a large cut up Mackintosh apple to the mix. The bannock is still nice and moist the next day. It does make a heavy bread but that is what I like. Reheat a piece in the microwave with butter in the morn, add fresh strawberry jam and you have a quick, stick to your ribs breaky. Thankyou for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I used 1 Tablespoon of Baking Powder, and whole wheat flour. I melted 1/4 cup of butter in my iron skillet in the oven, then poured it into the dry ingredients. I agree with others that 1 1/2 cups of water is too much. I added about 1 1/4 cup water and the dough was pretty sticky. I kneaded in maybe two more tablespoons of flour. It was easy to shape into a round flat loaf about 1 inch high and it fit perfectly into my big iron skillet. I baked it in the over as suggested for 30 minutes at 350. This turned out very tasty. With the 1 T of baking powder it rose nicely. I am Ojibwe and grew up eating this at my Grandma's, but she called it Goulette. I am happy to have finally found the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ikwewe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Bannock (when cut into smaller pieces they are called scones) is not a native dish but a Scottish one so making it with butter is not out of the norm. I love just wrapping the bannock around a stick and cooking it on a open fire. Bannock is a form of quick bread. I love bannock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This was a perfect family time recipe. We mixed up as directed and wrapped onto sticks which we cooked over an open fire....then dipped in melted butter and rolled in cinnamon sugar! These are a positively sinful camping treat! Thanks you for sharing this old world recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Delicious recipe. I often make this with bacon and eggs. It's amazing fresh out of the oven. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I love this recipe, we deep fry our bannock or roll onto a willow stick and cook over an open fire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I have tried several bannock recipes and this one gave me the best results by far. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very good recipe.!.!.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States