Bannock II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This recipe is so fast and easy to make! I needed bread and I think this was an excellent solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Umbertide, Umbria, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
i just made this a few minutes ago, because i was craving bread and wanted a recipe that didn't use yeast/eggs/dairy. it's a very basic recipe that you can obviously doctor up anyway you'd like. i drizzled honey over the bread- and it tastes so yummy! it's very moist and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
just what i was looking for since i had limited ingredients and it's a fabulous quick bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAFIRO80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Great Bannock recipe.....just like Grandma used to make (according to hubby) This was my first time ever trying it not my family tradition but is one of his an he said this is a good recipe for it....Have made it several times always turns out perfect **Make sure you poke LOTS of holes so it doesn't rise while it's cooking **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this recipe and it was delicious! However, I would suggest making the Bannock a lot thinner than one inch or the Bannock comes out doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenBea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
We were planning a family tenting trip and my husband wanted to show the kids how to cook bannock over the fire as he used to do as a kid. This was something new to me as well so I had to look up this recipe. It turned out great!! You make the dough and wrap it around a stick, then roast it slowly over the fire and serve it hot with butter and jam! Delicious!! Thanks so much for the recipe. My husband and I are going on a mountain back packing trip next weekend and I will definately bring the ingredients with me even if I have to leave something else behind to fit it in!! We will definately make this a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
The same as I used to make when I was little. I did substitute lard through as thats what I used in the recipe I no longer have. My kids wanted a wiener roast and I was out of hot dog buns. I mixed up this dough and we wrapped wieners in it and roasted them over the fire. Just like when I was a kid! Also delish with currants! Thanks for replaceing my long lost recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this recipe just yesterday to go along with "indian tacos". My grandma used to always make bannock, but I've never attempted it myself. It was just like grandma used to make. I altered the recipe just a smidge... I added a couple pinches of salt, and added a tbsp of sugar as well. I then fried it in a wok, and it was very delicious, my kids loved, loved, loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was a wonderful treat! I used 2% milk in place of the water, made individual patties and cooked in a cast iron pan over an open (coal) fire pit. Family loved it. Had it with butter and homemade jams. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Never baked after moving out of my parents place. The bannock both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noob

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States