Banh Mi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I loved the pickled veggie recipe. The only change I made was to add Siracha sauce to the mayonnaise to make it more authentic. I also used smoked brats since that's what I had available, and it reminds me of what I've had at a food truck in Brooklyn. Next time I'll make the BBQ pork and add pate. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was the best sandwich I've ever made. I did cook the chicken a little differently. I rubbed it with some coconut oil, cayenne pepper and cumin and pan seared it in coconut oil. Then I put it in the oven on 450 for about 15mins. The only other modification I did was using watermelon radish instead of daikon (couldn't find it). Me and my boyfriend both had seconds. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have only had Banh Mi once in a Thai restaurant and wanted more. While this recipe uses chicken instead of the usual pork, it lacked none of the flavor of the original I tried. I forgot to buy a jalapeno pepper so I sprinkled some red pepper on the chicken and mixed some siracha sauce with the mayo. It's simple, easy, quick and delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This is an awesome sandwich that is equally good with other meats such as pork or beef. The pickled veggies along with the cilantro make this sandwich. I did add chili garlic sauce to the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Yummy, we love everything about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
can u say good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
The whole family loved this recipe. I have only had Bahn Mi sandwiches from one vietnamese restaurant, I thought these were pretty darn close. I used broiled pork loin chops in place of the chicken. After making this once with the radish and once without, we all opted to forego the radish in the next batch. I also doubled the veggies to reuse again. Or I would decrease the liquids, there is a lot of waste. I found this to be a great weeknight dinner by making the veggies the night before and then broiling up the pork and compiling the sandwiches at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I've been on the biggest Banh Mi kick of my life the past week, and I love this recipe! I didn't have any white radish on hand so I omitted it, but without it it was still great. I also like to dip it in thai chili sauce.. makes a great dinner without having to turn on the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kick @$$ Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I used pork instead, marinated in a dash of Maggi, a 1/4 t dark soy, 1 t low sodium soy, then cooked in grill pan. I don't marinate the onion with the other veggies. They will turn the carrots brownish, not good if you want to keep extra on hand. I mixed MW with Sriracha and got it way too hot. YIKES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I gave it 4 out of 5 because I don't use the chicken and omit the garlic salt of course. I make a pork roast rubbed with a paste of fresh garlic, ginger and lime juice and then sliced thin after cooking instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pesto Paninis

These sandwiches make a tasty, easy weeknight dinner.

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States